Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


JimtopiaJimtopia

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

First game that's kept me entertained in awhile...

It was a totally awesome game, I must say. Actually my portal game is downloading from Steam as we speak, this just made me more eager. Great game, keep up the awesome work guys! ^_^



VanTangoVanTango

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 14, 2007

grrreat

great stuff- interesting challenging
the only thing wrong that i could tell was that sometimes objects going through portals dont always end up where theyre supposed to
i got to lvl 37



TheGSTheGS

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars May 24, 2008

Beautiful and fun!!!

This is I feel should be much higher in the Top 50 rankings. It is such a fantastic game. The graphics are smooth and look fantastic as does your character. The portals are nice aswell. Especially when you look through one and you can see a semi-reflection in the other. The gaming style is fun especially when you have to make big jumps and gather speed. While it seems complicated, it really isn't and is fun to play and think what you have to do to get to the exit.

Overall: Fun and it gets you thinking. A great game.


People find this review helpful!

SensitiveJerkSensitiveJerk

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 15, 2007

Great game, few glitches.

Wish there was some good music with it. I breezed all the way up to level 25, but for some reason I found out boxes get stuck against walls and my pick up F key wouldn't pick them up. Had to restart.

The levels are easy to figure out; it's the doing it part that's difficult. Turrets can easily be avoided by just running at them and jumping behind them, then picking them up and dropping them so they'll disable. I think, at the final level, you weren't supposed to do that... :S which made it much easier than most final levels.

The physics were a bit iffy at times. Jumping on a moving platform would make the dude glitch off the left and die a lot. Little stuff like that, but wasn't too frustrating when it happened.

It was fun to play, both times even. I liked the cake... but that's it? Damn. :P



playeliteplayer1playeliteplayer1

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 23, 2008

Sweet!

That was funny lol i just got cake... i was hoping for a boss lol


People find this review helpful!