Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


donkey1233donkey1233

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 18, 2007

Awesome

I can't get past lvl 27! I can't kick the right box down! Every time I try and jump over it it gets pushed to the wall and I have to restart.

Could you add some way to know boxes away from walls?



Unkle-KrakerzUnkle-Krakerz

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 19, 2007

Awesome!!

I gotta say before I playd this I thought you were refering the Newgronds portal, not the game: Portal, LOL. But yeah this was a pretty sweet idea, Portal kicked ass and i'm glad there's a FLash game version of it. Well about your game, yeah nioce snazzy graphics with the portals and such and nice character design. I liked how all that inovatiity (if that is a word fraction of "invovative") that made portal went into this, it's possibly the best use of a Flash side-scrolling shooter engine i've ever seen. My complaints however are some levels are just too short and the on screen character was a little too small so I had somewhat some trouble when I was playing this for about thirty minutes and my eyes lost track of the character. But still it's a good step for inovation and I liked the pretty menus and the emblem for it was nice too.

~Krakerz--



hawkseye1802hawkseye1802

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 11, 2007

Amazing!

Well this is fantastic! I beat it in no time, but I twas very challanging. Congratulations on a fantastic game! There were a few glitches, but that was it! Thank you!



DrlsDrls

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 21, 2007

Great game, but some flaws.

While playing i noticed that the character did a couple of things that either killed me or put me in a place I didnt want to be in. I jumped up onto a platform and let go of the jump and run keys, but the character jumped again right into the fire of a turret. Still the graphics are incredible and I didnt ever think about clicking the orange X until I finally finished the game.



Doom6150Doom6150

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 14, 2007

Fantastic!

These are the type of flash games that I am proud to be playing. True, you used a idea from another game. However, you used it effectively and in a way specific to flash. Keep up the good work.