Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


Fiery-EmblemFiery-Emblem

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 19, 2007

Wow, this a remake of Portal?

This was an excellent remake for Portal, and it was done very well. The level designs were great, and some of the puzzles were real brain teasers. My one problem for not giving this a perfect is that the whole level can be seen and everything can be thought out and planned before even starting the level, making some of the levels a little too easy. I've never played HL2 orange box, so that means I haven't played Portal either on PC/360/PS3, but I don't think that in Portal you were able to see anything except the things that were in the first person screen (if your actually do see the whole level for each level in the real Portal, then please reconsider this as a 10). I don't know how exactly to imitate that kind of way of blocking part of the level, but maybe something like a few levels that are in the dark, and wherever the portal gun is pointed, it shines a cone of light in the direction it's pointed in could imitate the first person view a bit. Other than that one little complaint, the rest of the game was excellently done.


People find this review helpful!

SevivalSevival

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars March 7, 2008

Great!

Good job!You should try making flash versions of other games too ;)
It was really good done,but i just suggest more scened rooms like the 1 one,like in cels and hallways,and not only big white rooms.But anyway,it's very good,keep going!



linuxwhitelinuxwhite

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 20, 2010

OMG

the cake is not a lie!



LizzardisLizzardis

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 28, 2008

Beautiful!

Beautiful piece of flash there!
So much like the normal 3D version, keep it up my good friend!
I look forward to seeing more of these good creations!


People find this review helpful!

The-DarkestThe-Darkest

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 15, 2007

Wow

I never thought this would be any good, thought it was a bit of a lame idea myself. But it is actually really good. Well done!