Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


MetalSlugPLMetalSlugPL

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 6, 2008

Great Game...

...but the 9th level is too hard for me!



whosniffedmewhosniffedme

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 20, 2008

great game

oh so nicley made. obviously nothing compared to the origional... but still... amazing.



ShadowBatUkShadowBatUk

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 15, 2008

Very fun and addictive

This is a very fun and addictive game :D Tis really very good



MelkaridMelkarid

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 15, 2009

Very nice game

The game itself has almost all the perfection of "the orange box"
The idea of recreating portal into a flash version was complete genius, and I have to say this game is very successful.
Although i have to point out to the fact that some level are repetitive, but nonetheless the game was very amusing.


People find this review helpful!

OcarinaMattOcarinaMatt

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 24, 2007

Mind Bending, board after board!

I thoroughly enjoyed this masterpiece. It's uniques style and large amount of puzzles kept me interested and thinking all the way through. I loved the cake, it was delicious. I am proud to say that I obtained the cake, not many games are challenging, but not frustrating to the point where one would give up. You hit the nail right on the head on that point. The graphics were very good, especially considering the length of the game. You have a great puzzle making mind, so I hope to see more of your work in the future. Also, a level edit version would be nice if you could make one in your spare time. Some of the crushers could have been faster, to make it more challenging. Also, you should look into making longer levels. At the end, I was screaming (not literally) for more. Maybe a sequel is in order? Anyways, brilliant work, complete genius. Music wasn't the best, you could have had more themed music, had different themes for every 5 boards or something to that effect, just to mix it up a little. (This just popped into my head, but,) If you do plan an any kind of a sequal, you could add the ability to upgrade the portal gun at some point to allow two sets of portals at once, allowing the player to switch between sets with the press of a button. Just some random improvement thoughts. Sorry about all of my rambling, I tend to do that at times. Great job on the game, I loved it. (I'm done, I swear)