Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


ZeroD314ZeroD314

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 20, 2008

This is a great game!

Basically, everything anyone below me is what I feel about this game:awesome. But, I can't give this game for One reason. Glitches
There's an INCREDIBLE amount of glitches in this game: so much it makes my mind boggle. Theres also some cool tricks too but, first let me point out some major glitches...
-Anti-portals. Sounds weird but sometimes if you shoot a portal, you have through the wall to get into it, which is impossible. I actually once teleported out of the game, into the ceiling, and walked off to my death in level 7.
-Doors closing on cubes, turrets, etc. Try it! The cube will fly upword through floors and it looks really cool.
-Sometimes you can shoot portals on dark surfaces. Occasionally
-Go through blue panels. Examples on 17 where i went so fast, i vaporised on the blue laser and came out of the entrance... Also on 18, on the last blue panel, if you jump, you go right through it.
-A lot more but i'm too lazy to type it all

Some tricks...
-Energy balls bounce off of turrets and cubes. Speaking of which...
-On level 32, if you put a turret directly over the energy ball once it hits where it came out of, the turret will spin 360 degrees for like 30 minutes.
-Typing "noclip" on your console will make you fly! Actually, you're more like a ghost...
-Easter Egg!! Look on the window on level 16 for a few sec. See someone?

Plus more. Well, I hope you'll try these glitches for yourself! Thanks.


People find this review helpful!

GangNingGangNing

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 4, 2009

Great, but simple

I got to level 15, its very frustrating but addictive, simple idea but well made. Lose 1 point for the simpleness of it. Lack of any good flash. But still very good.



St4rN0v4St4rN0v4

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 26, 2008

Not the Real one

9 because it is really like portal but not the real one lol



free-booterfree-booter

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 18, 2007

Great, but a few glitches

It was really well done. However it had a few glitches.
Sometimes the portal would transport you (or an object) to the wrong place. Most of the time that was either the beginning/entrance or outside (causing death).
On level 38, once you got to the top area if you tried to send in the block (without carrying it) it often disappeared only to reappear where it was to start the level. This happened consistently but only on 38.
One main suggestion is to have the HL2 balls not explode until you do something to them. For the timed levels, it was very annoying to have to wait for the ball to explode in its starting path just to use a ball with a fresh countdown.



TXMADMAN1TXMADMAN1

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 2, 2008

jus as good as the original!!

hell yeah instant flash classic i would've gave it a ten theres jus one problem i had its during some of the later levels i would send my companion cube through the portal and i would reset it self which as u may know in some levels there's no goin back n it jus pissed me off but other then that this would be jus like playen the original. and oh yeah it took me an hour and a half to beat phewwww!!!!


People find this review helpful!