Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


TitanamanTitanaman

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars February 27, 2012

The truth of this game is this and simply this, it is an epic win and a rage-inducing machine at the same time, just like the 3D game it's based on. In many ways it's aperfect replica of Portal, in that the style, gameplay, and game type are all identical. But, also like it's predecessor, it carries with it a challenge so great it may lead some to rage quit. How is this so? Well...

I like to start with the positive, so lets get those aspects down. First off, the graphics are perfect for the game, and the style and tone remind me of that oh so perfect classic puzzle game we all love. The levels are challenging and I admire how one must think outside the box in order to solve the mazes. Soemtimes there's more than one way to find the exit. Innovation and creativity like this cannot be faked, and I applaud the creator for it's intricacy. In terms of a 2D Portal concept, this is as close to perfect as one can get.

However, this game, while brilliant, has but one major flaw that almost turns me off replays altogether. Simply put: the control is one of the most fustrating things I've ever tried to master. This game is perfect in layout, but trying to move the little gunner around it damn near impossible on some levels. Some of these puzzles require some VERY careful moving and precise jumps, but the control is so lagged or slippery at times that there's no way to bypass an obstacle, land properly, or even take down an enemy droid without some luck or a glitch. (No joke, the only reason I got past level 34 was because a glitch caused the droid to fall up through the ceiling). But truthfully, this game's frustration can bring the user back out of refusal to let the game beat them, so I guess it's not all bad. Good challenge is never bad, however the challenge shouldn't come from stiff controls.

In conclusion, this game may have a flaw or two, but like any gamer I found a way around it and pushed through, and, despite it's control, it's still a fantastic concept and excecution. Those who love original game will probably have a good time with it while they can, and it is one of the more brilliantly programmed games on Newgrounds.


People find this review helpful!

QuinxelQuinxel

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 17, 2008

Mhm. Good.

All it needed was a dark witted voice-over, and this game would have been perfect.



rustysandwichrustysandwich

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 2, 2007

Pretty great game, some flaws.

Only complain is that sometimes you could not shoot a portal where one should be easily placed compared to others.

Also sometimes my character would warp through walls, or in the case on the 37th stage I got teleported to the beginning when I went through the exit.

Other than that I loved it, it is one of the only Flash games I ever actually played through and came back to on a regular basis.

Thanks for a great game.



peterinnspeterinns

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 21, 2008

Brilliant ++

Great to play, with lots of really clever levels to solve - it's tough to complete, I haven't managed it so far. But well done on producing a really high-quality entertaining great-looking Flash game! 9.5 out of 10 (but of course the system doesn't allow score fractions, so I had to post a straight 9, sorry).


People find this review helpful!

TompcatTompcat

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars January 12, 2009

hints!

you should give hints on each level just in case people get stuck