Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


IstvanOrosiIstvanOrosi

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 16, 2007

Well "ported" game.

Great "conversion" of PORTAL. Played and love the original as well as your version. In some levels this version was even more fun.

A few bugs I found:
Level 20: when I almost finished the game, I used the portals. I ended up high and started falling. Instead of landing on the platform, my character just fell through.
Level (??): the energy ball was about to move through the portals and I removed both portals. The energy ball got stuck in the wall.
Level 39: I finished the game and ran through the exit door but ended up at the beginning.
- Hope this helps.


People find this review helpful!

swagsurfinswagsurfin

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 22, 2010

has one glitch

i stopped and it started over



Nova88Nova88

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 15, 2008

Nice..

Great game, very addicting.. I just love it.. But I did have some trouble with bugs on level 28.. =/



RobbieweezaRobbieweeza

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars December 12, 2007

Gee, thanks for the cake

I was already bashing myself on the head for not having bought Portal yet and then I find out about this! Took me a good while to beat it, too. The framerate does sometimes get in the way when you have to do several things after eachother fast, like with the platforms and turrets. However, it's only a mild annoyance. One thing that might be worth looking at is level 38, I managed to get past that without even touching the upper half of the level (the scary part with the turrets and lasers...yeesh). The gameplay reminded me of an old game called Abuse, which had similar controls. If you've never heard of it, it's widely available as freeware now and still enjoyable. Overall, great interpretation of the concept and this could use a sequel :-)


People find this review helpful!

IceDragon64IceDragon64

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 21, 2007

Great but

it might be better if you didn't write everything assuming the whole world already knows what The Portal is. As far as I was concerned the only The Portal online is the NG Portal!

Otherwise tis a great game, even tho I got totally stuck on level 6!