Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


GowGod3GowGod3

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 20, 2007

YES!

Well I beat it, using cheats, good thing I play valve games. And I have heard of people finding bugs in the 21 lvl for some reason.

It's so great you should make a level editor!



silvercrapsilvercrap

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 20, 2007

ORIGINAL GAME!!!

stuck on 36... meh il keep trying cuz its so fun and compelling and im so close 2 the end



LexanezLexanez

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 21, 2007

Cool game!

I love the concept of this game, portal and stuffs. The levels are challenging yet able to complete. Great job guys!

Though can be mind bogging at times but it is after all a good brain workout, thanks for bringing such a nice game to newgrounds.

For level 37, you will need to block the turret on the left side with 2 of the 3 cubes given, after pushing the 3 cubes on the next platform, slowly push down the cube down until 2 cubes stacked and blocked the turret's view. Next you take the 3rd cube and drop it on the button.

After that, put a portal through the slit to the top platform then move as close as possible to the 2 cubes blocking the right turret's view which you will put the other portal just right below of you and the cubes, when correctly done, you and the 2 cubes will be teleport to the top platform without the right turret shooting at you.

Place the 2 cubes on the 2 buttons then put a portal through the slit to the middle platform, as close to the right turret, next put the other portal on the ground beside you and jump into it, which you will jump out through the portal and behind the right turret. Then you can pick it up and disable it.

After that, go back up using the portals again. Place a portal through the silt to the middle platform, closer to the left side then place the other portal on the wall which is in the path of the enery ball, close the 2 portal once the energy ball pass through.

Portal back to the middle platform and portal to the small platform in between the top platform and the lower platform. Place a portal toward the path of the reciever and another on the path of the ball. The reciever will then eat it and the door will open.

Put a portal on the side of the middle platform, go down and go as close as possible to the 2 cubes blocking the view of the right turret, place a portal right under both of you, you will teleport to the small platform. Place a portal through the silt and one just below the small platform, push the 2 cubes in and jump through it. if do correctly, you land right on the tiny platform beside the red plasma while the cubes likely to be on the button.

Portal to the bottom, place a cube on the button and portal to the magnetic field when its off. Place the cube on the button and the left turret should drop through. Portal to the middle platform and run to the exit.

Optional, for the left turret, I took the cube sitting on the button on the midde platform and rush towards the 2 cubes and to the left turret which hopefully will disable the turret.



PwnsmithPwnsmith

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 22, 2007

This should be an XBLA game... I'd buy it.

This is what Portal was for me in the gaming world in the flash world... friggin spectaular, one of, if not the greatest flash game ever made. It's so fun, and surprisingly more challening than I expected considering it's on a 2D plane. This should totally be an XBLA game for like 400 msp... or with more levels for 800 msp. I'd totally buy it.



BlayzeIncBlayzeInc

Rated 5 / 5 stars April 17, 2008

great

Awesome man, nice job, kept me entertained all day :)


People find this review helpful!