Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


mewarmo990mewarmo990

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 29, 2007

There's a reason this has such a high score

Just... wow. Most fan-made adaptations of commercial games, such as Unreal Flash, are often decent games in themselves but usually fail to capture the spirit and elements of the source material that made it so fun. Portal: The Flash Version, then, is the rare exception to this rule.

This game is just as addicting as the real Portal, and the gameplay translates surprisingly well into 2D. Basically, read any review about Portal and that will apply to this review so I won't have to say it. =D Basically, it was challenging but never frustrating or boring, although I did consult your video walkthroughs a few times..

My only minor gripes with P:tFV are that the cubes can't effectively block turret shots like in the original game, and more importantly, placing portals can prove to be annoying because the hit detection seems to be a little rough. Areas that should be able to hold portals frequently give me annoying "boop" sounds when the launching fails, so you might want to tweak that in any future work.

Otherwise, splendid job!


People find this review helpful!

AnimalisticAnimalistic

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 15, 2007

Absolutely Awesome

This game was very fun and I thoroughly enjoyed it and the concept of turning portal into a 2D platform great execution and very few glitches. So what if its hard isn't that sometimes the point. Great Job!



dominic542dominic542

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 1, 2007

nice

i completed the real game, its awesome, 10/10



KimeraXKimeraX

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 24, 2007

Supaspy! YEAH!!

You are totally right about that! Let's see him make one like that! >:) GOOD JOB IDO AND HEN!!



evilfluffmongerevilfluffmonger

Rated 5 / 5 stars May 12, 2008

Excellent piece of work!

Well, I have to say, this game isn't anything short of amazing, and I love to play it. I think the level save feature is cool, but I wish you could have taken it a bit...further. In the later levels, even though I knew what to do, I would mess up once and have to restart RIGHT from the beggining. It was really frustrating to spend like 7 minutes on a puzzle, and just as you are about to beat it you died.

Like I said, this flash is amazing, fun to play, and a near perfect 2d emulation of portal. But, like I said before, it is lacking a checkpoint feature which would have made the game a lot better. Don't get me wrong, i'm not a flash artist, and im sure coding some kind of "checkpoint" feature into the game would have taken awhile. I praise the level save feature very much as I doubt anyone would finish this game in one sitting, but the having to restart the level thing bugs me.

Well, for most levels it isn't that bad, but on the long, later levels, you will get extremely frustrated when you die just as you are about to finish the puzzle, causing you to try it a lot of times. But, really, I found nothing else wrong with the flash. Heck, technically there is nothing wrong with the flash, the checkpoint feature which I crave for is just one of my desires, so technically nothing is truly wrong with the flash.

Something else that slightly annoyed me was the fact when you picked up an object it wobbled back and forth, so sometimes it was kinda hard to put it on a button, but this was a minor thing that didn't bug me mutch.

Okay, I seem to have been very negative this review, so I will address some of the good points. While there wasn't that much music to listen too, I thought it was pretty catchy and fit pretty well with the surroundings. I personally thought that fighting the turrets was enjoyable for the most part, but in the cases where you just had to rush up to it and pick it up, sometimes it wouldn't pick it up causing a quick death(whoops, sorry, going into negatives again.)

As said before, it perfectly captured the idea of Portal and put it in 2d form. As a huge fan of Portal, I was at first kinda confused as to the different colors of the portals from the game(blue and orange contrast to blue and yellow) but this didn't bother me whatsoever and certainly didn't detract any fun from the game.

I thought the new additions to the game that you didn't see in portal was pretty cool, such as the falling down spike walls(unfortunate they only appeared in a couple levels, the really made your adrenaline rush trying to escape in time.)

Truthfully, the only thing that really differenciated it from Portal(aside from the 2d/3d difference) was the fact that this games "Glados" was devoid of humor. But, I actually thought this is better than if you would have put humor in this game, considering that trying to copy Glados's humor would be hard and would seem pretty unoriginal.

Well, if you are the"I don't like to read" type, I will sum it up for you;

I enjoyed the game greatly and thought it was a near perfect replica of Portal, and my only minor quip was the fact that there wasn't an in level checkpoint system, but this was mostly made up for by the fact most levels didn't really require it and you had a save system. In other words, great job and I look forward to your work in the future. Nice Job.


Lots of people find this review helpful!