Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


Hams7777Hams7777

Rated 5 / 5 stars January 3, 2008

Awsome..but puzzling

this is jsut as hard as the real portal. The graphics were great the levels were creative, and the ide was amzing. How long did it take you to mkae this? It's really confusing though, fun bit confusing..jsut like normal portal.


People find this review helpful!

skylinedfireskylinedfire

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 20, 2007

Excellent Rendition.

I've been playing this for weeks, but never stopped to write a review.

You guys did so well at recreating the exact quirky challenge that makes 3D Portal so fun, while at the same time creating your very own little beastie of a 2D platformer.

The game controls are incredibly responsive and unfailing, which is probably the biggest flaw I come across playing games here. It's such a nice feeling to be able to trust that I won't be slightly sinking through the floor when I run, or that I can only jump if I'm not running to the left-- that kinda crap.

Great controls, great gameplay, totally acceptable graphics... If this stays on the Frontpage forever, I don't think anyone would mind.


People find this review helpful!

typhoonoftempesttyphoonoftempest

Rated 5 / 5 stars February 21, 2010

How Portal could have ALSO been

Dear worlds, thar is portals in mah flash?

Portal: the Flash Version plays it straight in a 2D platformer style: you have a portal gun, and you have physics and obsticles. Enjoy.

A few things from That One Game made it in here that didn't in the final version of portal (barring mods/expansions), but they only add to the wonderful game.

You guys outdid yourselves and deserve a great review despite being four years late to the party.


People find this review helpful!

TuglerTugler

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2007

Great Job Man!

Great Ido and Hen! I loved ARM 1 and 2 and i couldn't wait to see how good this would be! Its Awesome! I'm a pretty big fan of steam games so this will substitute as a preview sort of thing until the real portal comes out, but after it comes out I will still play this! Great Job guys!


People find this review helpful!

dragonmaster40kdragonmaster40k

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

im stuck

how do u get past lv 9