Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


GwydeonGwydeon

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

EXCELLENT GAME!

Loved it, solvable THOUGHT puzzles but with some reflex thrown in. The reflex bits were not over much which I appreciated it let me worry more about the puzzle than my twitching.

I played this instead of slavering over the release of the actual game and it was quite satisfying all by itself. I actually played past release (I think, I'm even writing this before checking again) due to its addictive and fun nature.

Top scores, good graphics, smooth control, good physics (boxes have some issues though) and great puzzles!

If this is the quality of your work I'll be following it very closely *_*

Quick question... level 40... spoiler free I managed it without going to the top right area. Is this a bug/glitch or intended? I will message with details if wanted.

Also the room with uh.. 6 boxes, its twards the end as well, I glitched into the locked room (upper left) when jumping up on the walls surrounding it, something up with the collision there.



RrocketoRrocketo

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

Wow. Just wow.

The title says it all. One of the most well done flash games.



KabombKabomb

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

great, but one bug

It took me a while to figure this out, but on the 22nd level I put a portal on the floor and another on the wall in lign with the activator and the ball kept exploding before reaching it. After I paused it, I realised the ball exploded even when it was paused.

I had a similar problem in one of my games in development and realised you must of used real time (date.getTime()) instead of calculating the time from a counter in the code. So while time kept ticking, my crappy computer lagged behind and couldn't keep up :(

still good game though.



ZoranBlackwindZoranBlackwind

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

Awesome!

Yeah this is exactly like Codename gordon... only for portals... very well made and awesome flash adaptation



imkopakaimkopaka

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

Great

I got to level 31. I wish I could go further, but I need to sleep. Great game. Very well made. Reminded me a little of Codename Gordon (a flash version of half-life 2...sort of).