Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


AristeraAristera

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

Fucking awesome!

Makes me want to play the non flash portal game! I just spent an hour or so and cleared the whole game. 40 levels, yay cake! Same bugs as Bassoid has below, what a pain in the ass to drop a box where you want it when carrying it. Also on level 36 and another level (I forget which one but probably not relevent), I walked out the exit and walked back into the same room without completing it. Fortunately I was simple to get back to the exit again and I didn't need to redo the entire level but annoying none the less.

I'd love to see more levels and maybe guns that you could blow up! :D


People find this review helpful!

lyndis313lyndis313

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

Awesimz

10/10 Sweet, add to favs



BassoidBassoid

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

Very Very Cool :D

It had a very nice feeling to it, but a few very minor bugs made some of the levels frustrating. The difficulty was right, neither too hard nor easy, and the levels made me think quite a lot ^^.

As for bugs :
Sometimes when you are holding a box, if you go next to a wall the box can clip trough the wall and end up in another room , this happens often with the closed small rooms with "portal shooting openings"... wich is very bad for the last levels, and also the physics when you drop a box in to a switch are ... bad... they always slide and make me pick them up sometimes up to 4-5 times.

That said, splendid work, thanks for bringing us one of the best flash games I´ve ever played. Instant classic.



SettSett

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

WOW

That was amazing and I only went up to level 29 or so. I'm telling all my friends. Great work guys. My only problem was i kept hitting E instead of R it messed me up some. For sure you should make a level editor and more levels. This is the best flash game I have ever played.



kizziykankizziykan

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

mind bending

this game rocks hard core...I do think improvements visually and a bit of tweaking on the controls would help would make this game perfect though....but all in all awesome game....I played every level and loved the end too