Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


MokoshotarMokoshotar

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

Well, there's still a couple of bugs...

The games great, don't get me wrong. It's just that there are a few bugs, although they may be minor, do occur in the game. One level in particular *27 I believe*(The one that had the two triggers under a red beam and needed two boxes so they could stay activated and let the energy ball go in) got a little buggy bringing over the boxes through the portal. When I go to the otherside to put the box down, it's on the floor above me, which isa still locked off, forceing me to go back. Like I said, some are pretty minor and I'm sure have been spotted already and reported to you. You did an excellent job with this. Looking forward to a level editor. :)



PyrosianPyrosian

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

best adaptation of concept of a 3d game ever!

It's basically a 2d portal, with more puzzles than the actual game (if I'm not mistaken) and in some cases increased difficulty. The game is just as good as Narbacular drop, and in some cases better, with far less bugs.

The only problem I have is that sometimes getting a portal to land on a spot accurately is rather difficult, and that some features of Portal and Narbacular drop weren't implemented.

For instance, you can't trampoline yourself (two portals, both on ground, having made one beneath your feet. After a while, the speed you build actually lets you climb to unlimited heights) and you can't make a portal through another portal.

Perhaps if you did another one, could you make a targeting reticle that shows with a red line (like a laser pointer) where your portal will pop up or if it can't be created there, and by extension of this make it so you could make a portal through another portal.

But considering the medium, what was delivered was perfect, and I couldn't stop playing, and almost all the puzzles had a logical solution.


People find this review helpful!
Dragy2005 responds:

Actually, such line exist. Well ok, sort of. It was planned since the very first versions, and there are pieces of it left in the game - time in console "aim" or "space", and hold space while playing. The thing about it is, it's killing the fps at high levels.


BobBobingtonBobBobington

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

Utterly amazing.

Amazing. I do hate, however, how you can put a portal in another portal on accident(Don't know how) but end up outside. You can also jump outside of the arena by jumping into the entrance door.



hideeho1230hideeho1230

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

Nice!

Loved it, And i actually finished it too =D. Last levels a real hard bugger. Any way you've done yourself proud with this and hope you make more.



SpinksSpinks

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

Slick Little Puzzle game.

Simply put. A slick little puzzle game. Well done.