Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


kizziykankizziykan

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

mind bending

this game rocks hard core...I do think improvements visually and a bit of tweaking on the controls would help would make this game perfect though....but all in all awesome game....I played every level and loved the end too



QuickNickQuickNick

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

w00t

VERY nice game guys!
Anyways, in addition to the previously mentioned commands I have found more.
flash-doesn't do much.(fuuny)
console-doesn't do much.(funny)
die-works like Valve's 'kill' command.(suicide)
kill-works like Valve's 'kill' command.(suicide)
noclip-works like Valve's 'noclip' command.(no colision detection/gravity)
god-works like Valve's 'god' command.(cannot die)
gravity-works like Valve's 'sv_gravity' command. Use: gravity [value] Normal gravity value is 800 just like in Valve games.


People find this review helpful!

DarcAbyssDarcAbyss

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

I shouldn't give you any stars....

Cause there arn't enough stars in the night sky to give you for this game. Awesome idea, awesome results. I've wanted to play portal for a while, and this is just what I wanted....Still want to try the full thing. You should have made a sandbox mode, but I think that would get a little chaotic...


People find this review helpful!

AtomicToastAtomicToast

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

The Best Flash Game Ive Ever Played.

This game is just plain amazing. I never thought a game like this could be made into a 2-D but you pulled it off perfectly. Its almost as if mario found a portal gun. The Graphics were simple but matched the game just right. The Music was great, and the puzzles were very creative (and hard!) But I still managed to enjoy it. The Developer Console was a very nice touch. Made it seem more like a real game. It was cool how you hid all those extra codes (which I found a few by the way!)

I have to say, Ive never had more fun with a simple flash game. The Very Large amount of levels also kept me playing. I'm only on level 32, but I plan to finish the whole thing. I'd be nice to have a downloadable version I could play in full screen but this is good. Keep it up! Respond if you can!

Heres the Codes I found:

lol
wecreatestuff
portal
pie


People find this review helpful!

glubglubyglubgluby

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 10, 2007

help?

few things, what do some of the codes do (pm me ) and how do u beat lv 4 or 5 whichever u have to gain momentum?