Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


schwamschwam

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 11, 2007

Easily better than the real Portal game!

It's was soo cool it hurts... I want more!!! Cake was nice, thnx!!!



CaenEchoCaenEcho

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 11, 2007

Almost as good as the actual game

I was expecting something much less but found something great, a rare occasion. The levels are challenging, yet not overly frustrating or impossible.



SkwinchSkwinch

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 11, 2007

lol its the flash portal in the flash portal...

Absolutely fantastic! My new favorite game. I second WeirdJedi on the difficulty of the levels.



WeirdJediWeirdJedi

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 11, 2007

Incredible

This game was incredible. Granted, I haven't played the 3d version of Portals but I felt that the 2d version was at the same high quality of standard. Witty remarks and organized puzzles always catch my attention. Nearly every level wasn't too hard to give up on, but wasn't too easy to be considered 'kiddy'.

There were still a few problems. You can create a portal on the hidden boundary while being stuck in an infinite loop. This allowed you to walk through walls. Hmm, that sounds familiar like I've played it somewhere. Another problem was being able to jump over the doorways. If I pushed a couple of boxes into the portal and retracted, the boxes could reset all over the place. I also discovered the ability to have a downed machine block my view from another one. That helped a lot.

I managed to get to lvl 36 without any trouble. Lvl 37 was actually tedious since I knew what to do but had to get it perfect to pass. Lvl 38 was the spot where I had to stop. I couldn't figure out how to get the boxes over the button. I thought holding the button down and having the machine shoot the boxes across would work. I thought pushing the boxes stacked would work. I stopped there after thinking of a possible solution for a good 30minutes.

Don't have the glitches, frustrations, and problems fool you --- this game is RAD.



DestructidesDestructides

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 11, 2007

Great work.

This game has amazed me much more than any other one on Newgrounds. I didn't even think of the possibility of remaking Portal in Flash, not only because the script for a such game would be damn complicated. But you made it, you earned much more than only my respect. Original sounds, good graphics, overwhelming gameplay, I think this is gonna be on the front page for a long time. (Played until lvl 32, after 3 attempts the last turret killed me, and I quit due to frustration. ^^ )