Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


LandepaukkuLandepaukku

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 12, 2007

Only now I can truly understand...

How brilliant the game can actually be on the real HL2 engine. I knew it was a great concept and could be fun, but id never imagine it being as brilliant as this.

As soon as started playing this game, I just couldnt stop playing it until I passed all the levels. Controls were perfectly placed, the physics were right as they should be and the puzzles (especially the latter ones) were brilliant. I literally got "stuck" on lvl 6 for like 5 mins because I was just seeing how high the dude could actually fly.

The only nit-picking part would be the ossacional collision detection. Sometimes the portals just wont go where they ought to and the objects get kinda stuck together but usually it helps if you simply try it a few times.

All in all, I think its a great adaptation of the original game, tightly packed into flash format, which makes it available to everyone. Why on earth this isnt on front page?

Bravo!

Bug report: on lvl 32, the left-hand wall just above the ledge above the starting area seems a bit bugged. Sometimes it doesnt do a portal on it at all, sometimes it does and sometimes it does a portal which ends up going in the wrong way, resulting in the plasma ball moving out of the screen.

Bug report v2: Sometimes, if you bring a cube with you through a portal and theres another room too near, the cube can "warp" in to the other room. Quite annoying when you get it near the end of lvl 34 and you are completing it for the first time.

And one more thing: I loved lvl 35 ^^



Ismael92Ismael92

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 12, 2007

Great

This is a great game, but it would be good to have a code to continue the game. For example, every level has a code, and if I know level 30 code, I can start playing from that level.



SmilinguidoSmilinguido

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 12, 2007

Fantastic.

Awesome game. Very fun.



Drzoidberg45Drzoidberg45

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 12, 2007

great!

always wanted to play the original, and you've brought all my dreams together close enough! thanks, and it was a great game, although i couldnt get passed level 23 >.<



JenadaeXJenadaeX

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 12, 2007

A glitch for you

great game btw, been playing the crap out of this since i finished the real version. When messing with the console i noticed if i made the gravity even as low as 29 the game would freeze. I havent tested this in anything else then firefox but it causes the whole computer to lock up.