Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


RachelpownsyallRachelpownsyall

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 12, 2007

WOW

IT WAS REALLY FUN! I GOT ALL THE WAY TO LEVEL 30 but i'd say level hmm 28 was frustrating



theschnitztheschnitz

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 12, 2007

Great game

Overall a great game, but there are a couple problems/bugs. The first is that if you drop an item right over a wall onto something active (like an energy ball releaser, or once a turret) the item gets moved strangely. Once the item appeared on the opposite side of the wall, another time the item got stuck IN the wall (which was really bad considering it was a box).
Also, you can't re-aim while moving. I don't know whether it was designed this way or if its actually a quality/framerate problem.
Once when I walked through the exit I came out the entrance.
I hope you do make a level editor, as I think it'd be fun to make some really dastardly levels.



SPAWNKILLERSPAWNKILLER

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 12, 2007

nice dude

It was sweet how you put in the regular sounds from portal/half life 2 and made some pretty great lvls, Im stuck at lvl 32 :( , but overall this was a great game



PagasaeusPagasaeus

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 12, 2007

Well Done

Excellent adaptation, excellent level design, excellent physics. 10/10 The puzzles were realy fun an interesting. Some were much harder than others.

FOR THOSE STUCK ON LVL 9:
The key is that your momentum carries through in and out of the portal. The first thing you do is stand under the white spot on the ceiling (blue) and shoot a portal up. Then place a portal right under you (yellow) and you'll fall down continuously. While you are falling, fire a portal next to the yellow portal on the ground and you'll be able to jump up higher than the barrier each time you go in and out of the portal. Repeat for the next barrier, except you place the high portal at the side of the wall rather than at the ceiling.


People find this review helpful!

malefic-puppymalefic-puppy

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 12, 2007

MMMmm , cake :)

Awesome game ^_^