Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


ArKaineRevivedArKaineRevived

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 13, 2007

Awesome game!

This is the game the held my attention for the longest period of time EVER on Newgrounds, seriously!
Very cool feel to the game and smooth graphics.

However, I got to level 39, and I got to the exit, but when I ran through the exit I just came out at the entrance again, as if the exit and the entrance were portals themselves!!!
That was very frustrating, or is that supposed to happen?

Once again though, GREAT game, love it! I hope to see more of it soon!



sandie101sandie101

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 13, 2007

ultimate!

i love this game
ive come until lvl 37, but now it gets rather hard...



Crackler72Crackler72

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 13, 2007

awesome!

i love the concept of the game. excellent work.

and yes i beat it :) i gave up many times, but its too addictive to just stop playing!

:D perhaps more lvls? that would make me very happy! and you want me to be happy right? 0_0



NondoNondo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 13, 2007

Great game but...

I'm really frustrated with some parts. One of the things that I'm frustrated was the grappler. Whenever I tried to drop a box on a button, the position I had to be in was so awkward. At some points, it took me 8 or 10 tries before I could land a box on a button.

Another thing that really frustrated me was lvl 37. The energy ball at the top right corner was avoidable at first as long as I was on the ground, however, when I died a couple of times, and attempted to go in that room at the top right corner of lvl 37, even though I was on the ground, the energy ball would still kill me anyways. *sigh*, so basically that's where my adventure ends. As much as I would love to finish this game, I just can't beat lvl 37 as long as that energy ball kills me everytime I try to put the boxes on the buttons. (Which is hard enough as it is, as I mentioned at the top of this review)

Overall, interesting and fun game to play, but I wish I would of been able to beat it.



Meltdown71835Meltdown71835

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 13, 2007

Nice game

Only problem is when I was at level 36, I took a portal on the ceiling and the ground and was able for some reason to propel myself down to the floor where the electric ceiling and ground was timing off.