Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


darksim2darksim2

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 15, 2007

Nice work.

WOOO!!! I beat it! Very nice game. Kept me entertained for quite a while. There were parts that were quite annoying and took a while to get past. But what's a game without a little challenge? This game is one of my favorites. Keep up the good work.



SilentSerenitySilentSerenity

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 15, 2007

good

very good, tho not as good as the real portal, tho it is definetly hard to match a succsessful game company with flash, and i sure as hell couldn't do nearly as well as you did, but sadly my 360 is broken at the moment, so i have to play it at my friends house, but still good job translating it to flash, im probalbly not gonna play this again but its not cause its bad but cause its, hard to compare, and it makes me miss the real thing,



SmokingwolfSmokingwolf

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 15, 2007

Woot - Commentaries with bug reports and requests!

This was so incredibly awesome! Very nice conversion of the original game, bravo!

Bug reports though:
1. Time and time again, my boxes wont come out of a portal through the ceiling. It's like they vanish and come back at their start location.
2.One time I jumped through the exit and came out of the start location, so that bug isn't completly fixed yet, sorry :/
3. When the door closes, and there is something in the way, the door still closes, but the object is placed ON TOP of the door. Can't you make the door go up again when it hits the object, or something like that?

Requests:
1. More levels! Pretty obvious request, heh. I really loved this game
2. Make the level editor! I can't get enough of it!


People find this review helpful!

rockybolanrockybolan

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 15, 2007

A frustrating and entertaining game.

I don't know which part of the game more addictive... How frustrating it is or how entertaining it is. It reminds me of the Oddworld games. (ps1)



AnimalisticAnimalistic

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 15, 2007

Absolutely Awesome

This game was very fun and I thoroughly enjoyed it and the concept of turning portal into a 2D platform great execution and very few glitches. So what if its hard isn't that sometimes the point. Great Job!