Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


SensitiveJerkSensitiveJerk

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 15, 2007

Great game, few glitches.

Wish there was some good music with it. I breezed all the way up to level 25, but for some reason I found out boxes get stuck against walls and my pick up F key wouldn't pick them up. Had to restart.

The levels are easy to figure out; it's the doing it part that's difficult. Turrets can easily be avoided by just running at them and jumping behind them, then picking them up and dropping them so they'll disable. I think, at the final level, you weren't supposed to do that... :S which made it much easier than most final levels.

The physics were a bit iffy at times. Jumping on a moving platform would make the dude glitch off the left and die a lot. Little stuff like that, but wasn't too frustrating when it happened.

It was fun to play, both times even. I liked the cake... but that's it? Damn. :P



RIVERIVE

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 15, 2007

I'm happy with cake..

This was a triumph
I'm making a note here
HUGE SUCCESS
It's hard to overstate my satisfaction
Aperture Science

we do what we must because we can
for the good of all of us except for the ones who are dead
but there's no sense crying over every mistake
you just keep on trying until you run out of cake
and the science gets done and you make a neat gun
for the people who are still alive

I'm not even angry
I'm being so sincere right now
even though you broke my heart and killed me
and torn into pieces
and threw every piece into a fire
as they burned it hurt because I was so happy for you!
Now these points of data make a wonderful line
and we're out of beta, we're releasing on time
so I'm glad I got burned
Think of all the things we learned for the people that are still alive

go ahead and leave me
I think I prefer to stay inside
maybe you'll find someone else to help you
maybe black mesa
that was a joke, haha, fat chance
anyway this cake is great, it's so delicious and moist
look at me still talking, when there's science to do
when I look out there it makes me glad I'm not you
I've experiments to run, there is research to be done
on the people who are still alive

and believe me I am still alive
I'm doing science and I'm still alive
I feel FANTASTIC and I'm still alive
While you are dying I'll be still alive
and when you're dead I'll be still alive
STILL ALIVE, still alive



hippykiller8hippykiller8

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 15, 2007

glitchy but fun

This is a very fun puzzle game but on level 38 the cubes goes away or when a portal is made, go back to the beginning where the cube was first found.



zeritualzeritual

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 15, 2007

Amazing!

i love this game. but i cant get past lvl 9 lol. I just cant make it onto the giant wall. Oh well, ill still try. AWESOME GAME



AndOutComeTheWolves1AndOutComeTheWolves1

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 15, 2007

AMAZING

wow this game is great. i loved it and it was a blast to play. i wish there were more levels because most of them seemed like tutorials. a sequal would be great! the game is easy to get used to but i kept forgetting wether e and q were yellow or blue portals and that messed me up alot especially on the level where you have to be quick and go to the switched to open the 23847 doors.

great game though and keep at the great work :). 11/10 for this


People find this review helpful!