Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


ZithraZithra

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 16, 2007

Nice

fun game, puzzling and fun!



ninjaking333ninjaking333

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 16, 2007

Great Game

If the real thing is anything like your version it'll be great. I got stuck at level 37 because of the two damn guns but its still an amazing game. If more people made innovative flash like this Newgrounds would be so much better. I do have one or two tiny criticisms like when you go to open a portal and it doesn't quite get the positioning right. I got bogged down sometimes with one level because I couldn't fire a portal at the place I had to. Maybe some sort of aimer as well for your gun that tells you where its pointing?



tha-daywalkatha-daywalka

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 16, 2007

Awesome, but...

Level 38 is fatally flawed. My cubes kept resetting to the beginning. Fuct.

--B



IstvanOrosiIstvanOrosi

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 16, 2007

Well "ported" game.

Great "conversion" of PORTAL. Played and love the original as well as your version. In some levels this version was even more fun.

A few bugs I found:
Level 20: when I almost finished the game, I used the portals. I ended up high and started falling. Instead of landing on the platform, my character just fell through.
Level (??): the energy ball was about to move through the portals and I removed both portals. The energy ball got stuck in the wall.
Level 39: I finished the game and ran through the exit door but ended up at the beginning.
- Hope this helps.


People find this review helpful!

JakBaronKingJakBaronKing

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 16, 2007

THAT IS SOOOOOOO COOL!

I wish this was a game for the DS or the Wii. That is just so awsome! I never played a game so well thought out! Good JOB MAN! You deserve Portal of hte YEAR!