Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


BanurielBanuriel

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 17, 2007

Makes me want to buy the real one!

I've played a few portal games. Most in some really good 3D. But so far this is the best one yet! Makes me use my brain.



SNiper-DudeSNiper-Dude

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 17, 2007

BUG REPORT

LVL : 9
With the infinite loop, if you change the portal on the floor while close to ground on the way downwards you will go through the portal though you will NOT end up from the other portal, besides you fall out of the map and results in death.

Good game :) nice physic generator :D

i wan't level editor!



crzy9310crzy9310

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 17, 2007

great but need help!

great game from what ive played so far but im havin trouble with lvl 9 HOW DO U DO THE INFINATE LOOP?? help would be greatly appreciated



the-happy-pandathe-happy-panda

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 17, 2007

Only suggestion for a sequel

A custom level creator

This was one of the better flash games I've seen in the last year. Great work.



Blizzard-57Blizzard-57

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 17, 2007

Pretty good, but just not fast enough

I know you tried, but I just couldn't get past 35 or so (the one with the moving platform and the many rooms connected by portal-only passages) because the cursor just wouldn't refresh fast enough. I got past the red lazer on the right once, but then an advertisement popped up in front of the screen. It was infuriating. I don't know why, but every single Armor Games sponsored game I've played somehow needs a gig of ram dedicated solely to it to play on the lowest of quality. The graphics aren't that complex. Aside from the portal (which seems to be absolutely laden with effects), I don't know what could be making it go so slow, graphically. If you're using any filters or bitmaps, get rid of them. Everything I see looks like a gradient, and so can be done with one. Filters are processor intensive, and ugly anyway. I'd need to look at the code myself to see what could be done for optimization, and even then I'm not that great with AS, so I don't know what to say. It was a pretty fun game, though it quickly became sloughsome.