Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


GruntOfActionGruntOfAction

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 17, 2007

Level 37 is hard as hell

Its still a fun game but level 37 is HARD!!



AziriaphaleAziriaphale

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 17, 2007

Hours of Fun

I found this game VERY entertaining.I bought TOB yesterday,and still played this game after playing the Console version.Loved the levels,and the quickness you were forced to at times.



AereBlackwindAereBlackwind

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 17, 2007

Extremely Entertaining

Great job at this game. The fun never stops and neither do the challenges, this game not only tinkers with your reflexes but your cleverness as well. The animation is great, as well as great job with the physics of it, the way you place each portal and react to each teleportation has a huge difference; great job, and keep making games.



FireDragoonXFireDragoonX

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 17, 2007

Very Good

This is actually tougher than the actual Portal game (I'm on level 38 here), but have only started playing Portal (just finished lvl 15). I hope Portal isn't 19 levels like it says... it's too quick. But at least this version is fun too. I like how you have the 'r' key in this.
But this game is a little buggy too.. ie. just now, level 38, last part, just lost a box through a portal... guess i'll have to restart =/



unnamed2007unnamed2007

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 17, 2007

sweet game

this was basically a 2-D version of Valve's Portal. Good job, and can you add like you said a level editor? those are always fun.