Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


DreamingShadowDreamingShadow

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 18, 2007

Really nice challenge

I really liked playing this game, yet I still can't manage to beat level 37. Something is bound to go wrong every time i try it.
Also i discovered a bug also in lvl 37^^ When you push all of the three blocks from the start down in front of the turret and keep pushing left you fall down onto the red button.



kamkazeepilot22330kamkazeepilot22330

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 18, 2007

So...FRUSTRATING!

The bastard never uses the portal when you really need him to, for some reason the portals decide they wanna trow me off the level and I DIE, and I can glitch through walls which is kinda cool but throws off progress. All and all, its a nice game until level 25 or so, thats when the ::GLITCHES:: start to REALLY take effect. This would be perfect if it weren't so glitchy... Also THE DAMN PORTAL NEEDS TO WORK MOAR.



free-booterfree-booter

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 18, 2007

Great, but a few glitches

It was really well done. However it had a few glitches.
Sometimes the portal would transport you (or an object) to the wrong place. Most of the time that was either the beginning/entrance or outside (causing death).
On level 38, once you got to the top area if you tried to send in the block (without carrying it) it often disappeared only to reappear where it was to start the level. This happened consistently but only on 38.
One main suggestion is to have the HL2 balls not explode until you do something to them. For the timed levels, it was very annoying to have to wait for the ball to explode in its starting path just to use a ball with a fresh countdown.



Arsenal-FanArsenal-Fan

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 18, 2007

Good idea...great creation

that was great...i luved it...its more like a puzzle/AWSOME!! kinda game lol...amazin neva da less ^_^



ZoukZouk

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 18, 2007

Nice game

Love the game though.

Cheers :)