Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


PhoenixGodwinPhoenixGodwin

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 19, 2007

Dear Lord. That was the most satisfying cake ever.

I spent all day trying to beat this. Granted, I was doing other stuff throughout the day as well, but finally, I finished it.

The concept, while not your own, is completely original through it's sidescroller layout. Many of the puzzles are challenging, some to an extreme amount, although I never felt hopeless (except once, but I managed to beat it all the same).

There were a few times where I would glitch in a weird way, sometimes giving me fortunate results, yet frustratingly enough, sometimes it was the opposite.

All in all this game is a fresh new flash game that succeeds where many have failed, and I do hope you make more.

Another compliment to the fact that you have effectively translated a console game to flash. A rarity in itself, that seems incredibly difficult to pull off. I suggest seeing what else you can do along those lines...

5/5 man. Great game.

Pe@ce

Phoenix Godwin


People find this review helpful!

ninjastarz808ninjastarz808

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 19, 2007

Fun!

This was a great game. Fun puzzles and nice layout. Only thing, a little slow on old computers. Otherwise, great game!



Ninja-KowNinja-Kow

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 19, 2007

Addictive!

I got to level 26 before I decided 1 AM is too late for a schoolnight.



DUDE4UDUDE4U

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 19, 2007

this was great

made you think like crazy. animation was pretty good. and everything was great. this was fun I had to give up after level 9 cause I had other games going. great job and keep up the great work



Dann491Dann491

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 19, 2007

SWeet

This game pwns. I am gonna skip school to play this game!