Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


vortigon1vortigon1

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 21, 2007

gooooooooooood

its realy good but i have to give you a penalty point because the psycics(or whatsoever) dont work as good. in the real portal wehn ya launch a portal under a cube and next to a turret it puches is over here it doesnt.
also the blue floors have a bug bcuz if ur in da air btween them u get fried 2 and that's why i cant beat lvl 37.



Gamexprt1Gamexprt1

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 21, 2007

ERG! Needs some fixin'!

Goddamn this game! It is pretty neat, but the damn character slides all over the place and the cubes get stuck behind buttons (sometimes making me have to refresh the page to start over)! If these things where fixed, then the game would be very good (and work on the compression rate).



MitchrockMitchrock

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 21, 2007

answer

the infinite loop is when you put one portal on top of you and one beneith you, so you keep going through both nonstop.



latin78latin78

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 21, 2007

???

What does the infinite loop mean?



H0SSH0SS

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 21, 2007

FANtastic!

Okay! It's time to review this game. I'll start by saying firstly, I realize that the concept is not your original design, BUT that doesn't stop me from giving you props for Fan-Flashing this amazing game. Your flash in particular had a few bugs towards the end, I would say the last few levels. I fell through a portal and it immediately killed me when I interacted with the moving platform. And the box went to its original spot after going through a portal wrong. I'm glad it went to its original place though, that was a good save. And that's pretty much it for bugs.

I have NO idea what it takes to make a flash game, however, from the looks of this, I can not see how it would have taken any less than many sleepless nights to put something like this out. Honestly, I do not play flash games on Newgrounds. After playing about 10 or so, I find them to be childish and poorly designed. Aside from not playing, I NEVER review flash games just because it's not my cup of tea. I am highly impressed with what you have done here. I played it all the way through to the end, and like any good game, when I finished I was excited.. and a little dissapointed that it was over so soon. I doubt that I'll be buying it for its marketed console, but I am though, confident I would play a sequel if you were to make one.

Great overall game, what a treat...