Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


H0SSH0SS

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 21, 2007

FANtastic!

Okay! It's time to review this game. I'll start by saying firstly, I realize that the concept is not your original design, BUT that doesn't stop me from giving you props for Fan-Flashing this amazing game. Your flash in particular had a few bugs towards the end, I would say the last few levels. I fell through a portal and it immediately killed me when I interacted with the moving platform. And the box went to its original spot after going through a portal wrong. I'm glad it went to its original place though, that was a good save. And that's pretty much it for bugs.

I have NO idea what it takes to make a flash game, however, from the looks of this, I can not see how it would have taken any less than many sleepless nights to put something like this out. Honestly, I do not play flash games on Newgrounds. After playing about 10 or so, I find them to be childish and poorly designed. Aside from not playing, I NEVER review flash games just because it's not my cup of tea. I am highly impressed with what you have done here. I played it all the way through to the end, and like any good game, when I finished I was excited.. and a little dissapointed that it was over so soon. I doubt that I'll be buying it for its marketed console, but I am though, confident I would play a sequel if you were to make one.

Great overall game, what a treat...



BlankShadowzBlankShadowz

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 20, 2007

Oh dude!

THE best flash puzzle game invented so far! Although i don't know why i couldn't get passed level 8. I couldn't figure out what the infinite loop was!! :D VERY good



SquatchfaceSquatchface

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 20, 2007

Very fun

The game was very fun and I really wanna buy the orange box now lol. Really well done but the last 5 levels started glitching quite a bit, mainly lvl 37. My cubes would respawn after going through a portal and I would have to restart, also fell through the floor a few times. Up until level 37, it was nearly flawless. Great job!



chrislennonchrislennon

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 20, 2007

its fin awsome

i love this game on here and 360 its hard as hell though



TheMaster12TheMaster12

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 20, 2007

amazing game

truly amazing game abd i do hope that there is a level editor,thatd just make the game even freakin sweeter