Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


laparapalaparapa

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 21, 2007

Great

Well, other then the fact that you can't change the controls (at least, to the best of my knowledge), it's a great game. I'd play the level editor if you released it.



ChibiSkeithChibiSkeith

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 21, 2007

Same as before

Love but suck at it



Dj-0-NidjoDj-0-Nidjo

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 21, 2007

Rodl/lol

It's fun but i am bad in games like this...



VarienVarien

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 21, 2007

Very nice!

Played about 2 hours on this and now i've made it^^
well level 32 was really hard and frustrating,but the level after it got much more easy...i thought level 40 would be much harder but it was too easy it think because most of the levels before were much harder...after all one of the greatest games on newgrounds and it deserves it's rating!


People find this review helpful!

silent-warfaresilent-warfare

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 21, 2007

For the experimenters out there

Great fun, although the combination of level designs and physics is not always straightforward, especially because the controls are a bit sluggish (gravity or no gravity). Wins hearts over on the idea side of things, though. Newgrounds needs more games like this.