Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


Kurisu-kunKurisu-kun

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 22, 2007

Excellent game.

Very good game. The ONLY glitch I found was that occasionally, a heavy cube put through a just-made portal (such as making a portal directly beneath the cube) would not travel to the opposite portal, and instead appear at its original spawn location. There was no instance that prevented me from completing the game, but on level 38, it did make it slightly more complicated.

All in all, this game is a very good way to take the concept of a two-way portal and put it to good use. I would very much like to see this expanded upon and put to more environments where only ingenuity with the portals will allow progress and survival. There's a huge amount of potential with this.



jackrobbojackrobbo

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 22, 2007

awesome puzzler

i reckon u should sell thsi to sont or something and make it into a consol game coz its awesome and meats players demands



Cloud73Cloud73

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 22, 2007

Very Interesting...

It's challenging, very fun, and though not very original, presents a different point of view for what is essentially a good game. This is for all the people who don't have Half Life 2 capable computers and want a good puzzle game to enjoy.



LilsuperdudeLilsuperdude

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 22, 2007

GREAT! but irrating

It was an Awsome game!!! im stil playing it! i love the puzzles and thegame play. but there are alot of glitches, and they drive me insance! one wont let me finish a lvl. hope u come out with a nother!! becarefu on the glitches this time :]



thatguy176thatguy176

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 22, 2007

Needs a Sequel

I beat this twice now and it's still addicting. It needs a sequel though, maybe where you're outside of the test lab.