Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


EnchuritoEnchurito

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 22, 2007

Best Flash Game Ever

Seriously this is the best flash game I have ever played. I beat it and its the best programed, best layed out, and the most thought provoking flash game I've ever seen. It deserves more than 10 stars and a 5 rating.



DJ-Kay-ZedDJ-Kay-Zed

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 22, 2007

Ownage!

Very funny.

Hint: Console, dance, a and d together ;-)

One thing I've noticed, all these guys that post bad revews havent made a single flash movie. Jealousy I say! Mine was blammed :-(



boostfreakboostfreak

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 22, 2007

glued to my seat

great game! it gotone of of my rare 10/10s! everything is great from the logic of the came to the cameras averywhere!



flashmakerzflashmakerz

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 22, 2007

haha

i have played cs before so i typed somethin; i the console that i wont tell, and i could complete the game sooooooo dang easily! hahaha! nice flash overall!!! (P.S. , for people that find it really really hard, PM me and i will tell you the cheat!!!)



Kurisu-kunKurisu-kun

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 22, 2007

Excellent game.

Very good game. The ONLY glitch I found was that occasionally, a heavy cube put through a just-made portal (such as making a portal directly beneath the cube) would not travel to the opposite portal, and instead appear at its original spawn location. There was no instance that prevented me from completing the game, but on level 38, it did make it slightly more complicated.

All in all, this game is a very good way to take the concept of a two-way portal and put it to good use. I would very much like to see this expanded upon and put to more environments where only ingenuity with the portals will allow progress and survival. There's a huge amount of potential with this.