Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


MadogfreemanMadogfreeman

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 24, 2007

Great greatness

Ok, first I would like to say that this game is amazing, its is VERY close to Valve's version, and I absolutely love this game. The replay value, to me, is very high, I must play this game almost every day. Infact as I play this game I think it not as a flash game, but somthing much more complex and well put together.

The graphics were fine, and the theme accuracy was amazing. I found it very easy to transition from the monochromatic style of this version to the cubic monochromatic style of Valve's Portal. The only thing I found unsettling was the difficultly curve. It seems kinda up then back down then OH OH REALLY HARD LEVEL, now here have a nice one. It just seemed out of order.

Besides that the levels were well designed, and it actually took a good amount of time to sit down and work out the solution, which is nice in contrast to the high level of Shoot the zombie dead games I've been playing recently.

I would very much love to see a sequel, with the same, if not higher, level of complexity. But I ramble, let me end up by saying; very, very good, and please keep up the good work.



n00btacularn00btacular

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 24, 2007

Harder than the original

Got to level 31 and stopped. More because of difficulty of execution than trouble figuring out the puzzles though.



baron51baron51

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 23, 2007

Incredible

One of the most original games I've ever played on Newgrounds. I found it very easy to navigate with no bugs. Very cool concept and im looking forward for another! Keep up amazing work!



iownuinpvpiownuinpvp

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars October 23, 2007

Well

The only thing that held me back was the fact that it was so buggy. Was frustrating. Then the 2nd to the last lvl... I got to the end door and it makes me walk out of the start door. I dunno? Anyway, I pretty much kicked its ass and the real game portals ass lol. Love mind games so.. yeah..



BlackspartanBlackspartan

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 23, 2007

finally

I got passed lvl 15. i love this game funny part is i get mad and never want to play it again but the i find myself playing it. grate job 10/10.