Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


NavNav

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 23, 2007

Great game...

This game was awesome! It was really fun to play, and you got the concept of the game just right! Most of the coding was perfect, although I noticed a few minor glitches, nothing serious! Awesome stuff guys! A level editor would be cool too.

@ The reviewer below me... SHUT THE FUCK UP! This is a great game, you don't understand how much work these guys must have put into it, giving it a one because of a few minor glitches! Shame on you! >:(


People find this review helpful!

Nateman742Nateman742

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 23, 2007

Suggestions

The whole thing is great. My temporary Mac has real trouble with Flash, so it was slowed down pretty bad in the later levels, but still awesome.

It kinda sucked that things like bullets wouldn't go through the portals(since you can practically use the turrets as your own guns by picking them up, righting them, then sending them off balance again), and that you couldn't nudge objects through portals if you were holding them. The lack of gained momentum from falling endlessly through portals was a little disappointing, I mean, I'd like very much to be able to launch myself up really high by creating a floor-ceiling loop, riding that for awhile, then moving the ceiling portal onto the floor to catapult me up to an impossibly high ledge. I noticed some slowdown if I tapped 'F' really fast, and sometimes it was hard to tell if I had a clear line of sight to launch a portal around a corner.

Otherwise, it was OMGAWESOME! 9/10, 5'd, faved!



LsDUDIELsDUDIE

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 23, 2007

wonderful

amazing game, just like the real portal, with all the ways you have to press your mind in order to figure out how to move on. the graphics are excellent and the music adds the right atmosphere to the game. great job and keep up the good work.



seenSMseenSM

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 23, 2007

wow

this is amazing i rly want to get o-box and from what ive seen this rly captures the feeling i got didnt beat it though



BreanBrean

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 23, 2007

Cool

This game is awsome and very cool. I like it though in some areas it is very hard. Keep up the good work.