Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


boredomkills7boredomkills7

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 26, 2007

well..its ok

i played the game (real one 4 360) and its a pretty ok for a flash version, but i did find some bugs, the door you can jump in the wall above it and it sucks trying to put portals on walls at angles



ShadowRaider885ShadowRaider885

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 26, 2007

Oh yea

This game is so addicting. I have encountered some bugs but i still got around them eventually. Other than that I was very fun to play.

A+ work



Vegaseventy7Vegaseventy7

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 26, 2007

Niiiice.

This game replicates the idea and gameplay behind Portal very well (Yes, I've played it). Heck, you've even added additional things into this that's not in the official game (well, that I know of) such as the laser that blocks you and the one that kills you. Very nice game :D.



zerozerozerozerozerozerozerozero

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars October 25, 2007

Frustrating but fun

Fun in the fact that you did a good job porting portal to flash and 2d. Frustrating in the fact that you don't have a large company behind you to work out the many bugs. Pretty fun though and I hope Valve implements the crushing walls and different barrier types that you have. Looking forward to a sequal to portal and hopefully the portal gun being introduced into the HL games. Having a portal/gravity gun plus abunch of other weapons to mess around with while killing things would make one hell of an awesome game (even if it was a 2d flash game*hint hint wink wink*).



XalyxXalyx

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 25, 2007

Quirky, wonderful game.

I haven't played the actual game Portal yet, but if it is somewhat similar to this I am ready to purchase. This had me hooked for hours upon hours. I even beat it and wanted to play again. The sensation I got upon completing can only be seen again by so few games on Newgrounds. I don't have really much to say other than I recommend this for anyone who plenty of time on their hands and plenty of desire for a good game in their spirits.

- Xalyx