Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


Venn2021Venn2021

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 2, 2007

Grade-A

This is the best flash I've played in a very, very long time. Over the period of a few days I eventually beat this, and I'm very impressed. This was very challenging.

I can't compare you to the Valve "Portal", though I'm planning on getting the Orange Box soon, so judged by the standards simply of that of a game, this is excellent. I truly had fun, and a pretty good smug satisfaction after I beat it.

Couple bugs I saw. One, this doesn't really matter, but sometimes you'll fly through the wall above the exit door when you leave. Another, this may be on purpose, but boxes don't block the portal (trying to be vague, I don't want to give it away if it's purposeful).

Great game, great job.
Oh, and kudos on the G-Man appearance. Just saw that today :)


People find this review helpful!

mackspacemackspace

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 2, 2007

damn you!

you have stolen my idea for a game. you shall burn in hell! (also the main character is a girl.) also if you make a sequel please include apeture science, maybe some halflife quotes because portal is based in the half life world.
GOOD GAME.


People find this review helpful!

XxXBan8diTXxXXxXBan8diTXxX

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 2, 2007

Sleek!!!!!

All my 5 R Belong 2 this!!!


People find this review helpful!

mychemsaintmychemsaint

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 2, 2007

Like it!!

Definately cool.......


People find this review helpful!

KobaltKillerKobaltKiller

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 2, 2007

Holy hell!

This game was absolutely insane. Almost dead on with the gameplay compared to the real thing. Only problem I had was spotty portal placement, such as I could try and snap a portal up on to a wall where it was possible only to have it not produce one and cause, at times, a lot of frustration and the loss of a level. Other than that, it was excellent. Kudos to you guys. I'd dare to say that this is the best game to come out of the Portal.

Oh, one more thing. You claimed that level 35, if I'm not mistaken, was supposed to be frustrating. I enjoyed that level most of all. It was loads of fun.

Keep on with games like this. You guys are the reason why people come to Newgrounds. You provide quality entertainment for everyone. Good job.


People find this review helpful!