Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


AnkyloAnkylo

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 10, 2007

Absolutely Incredible

This game is amazing, one of my favorites. The level design is great, the puzzles are difficult, and 40 levels gives you plenty to do. The game experience is dampered somewhat by a couple of bugs, such as boxes suddenly being reset after being shot through a portal, which was annoying. Also, this game isn't exactly original (it's based on the real Portal). Still, this game is incredible and fun for those of us without the real thing. =)


People find this review helpful!

eoin10eoin10

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 10, 2007

Really cool

That game is really cool. I'd love to get the real one but I'm not allowed. =( Anyway, I got to level 30 and I wanted to keep playing but I had to get off. Really good.
It deserves all 10 stars.



mutantboymutantboy

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 10, 2007

cool but

you should have made a level creater like do your own so i will give you a big fat nine.



Dutchman909Dutchman909

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 10, 2007

AAAAAAWESOME

this is definitely one of the best internet games ive ever played. at the end it was very hard though but the cake made it worth it :P
anyways, in short great game, nice graphics and thats about all i can say about it



lethalkiller93lethalkiller93

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 10, 2007

A brilliant flash version of an already great game

Honestly, I was browsing Newgrounds, looking for something to take my mind off of the huge amounts of work I've got to do, and then I stumbled across this. I thought, "Cool! This looks good. Valve's game is pretty cool so I wonder what this is like." So I clicked the link, waited for it to load and started playing.

Once I started to get the hang of it, I was hooked. I was playing for hours. In the end I had to stop because I realised it was so late, but I could have gone on to the end. This is a fantastic game. Well done!