Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


goaliemaster121goaliemaster121

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 19, 2007

As close to perfect as we will see for a long time

This is possibly one of the most well done flash games I have ever seen. Everything about it just seems to work, and work well. The gameplay is flawless, without any terrible glitches or bugs (except when you try to alter the gravity, which causes the game to crash). Every element from the console and PC game is present; from the portal gun to the companion boxes to the energy balls, everything is integrated into the game. I cannot tell you how well this game is put together. A 10/10



dreaded-clankdreaded-clank

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 19, 2007

fantastic!

this is the reason i go to newgrounds.



Pandemic2Pandemic2

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 19, 2007

Wow

This was an excellent remake for Portal, and it was done very well. The level designs were great, and some of the puzzles were real brain teasers. My one problem for not giving this a perfect is that the whole level can be seen and everything can be thought out and planned before even starting the level, making some of the levels a little too easy. I've never played HL2 orange box, so that means I haven't played Portal either on PC/360/PS3, but I don't think that in Portal you were able to see anything except the things that were in the first person screen (if your actually do see the whole level for each level in the real Portal, then please reconsider this as a 10). I don't know how exactly to imitate that kind of way of blocking part of the level, but maybe something like a few levels that are in the dark, and wherever the portal gun is pointed, it shines a cone of light in the direction it's pointed in could imitate the first person view a bit. Other than that one little complaint, the rest of the game was excellently done

I agree!



mooselord1mooselord1

Rated 5 / 5 stars November 19, 2007

great

this is one of the greatest games i have ever played i love maze type games
if you were to make another one but more features that would rock



Fiery-EmblemFiery-Emblem

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars November 19, 2007

Wow, this a remake of Portal?

This was an excellent remake for Portal, and it was done very well. The level designs were great, and some of the puzzles were real brain teasers. My one problem for not giving this a perfect is that the whole level can be seen and everything can be thought out and planned before even starting the level, making some of the levels a little too easy. I've never played HL2 orange box, so that means I haven't played Portal either on PC/360/PS3, but I don't think that in Portal you were able to see anything except the things that were in the first person screen (if your actually do see the whole level for each level in the real Portal, then please reconsider this as a 10). I don't know how exactly to imitate that kind of way of blocking part of the level, but maybe something like a few levels that are in the dark, and wherever the portal gun is pointed, it shines a cone of light in the direction it's pointed in could imitate the first person view a bit. Other than that one little complaint, the rest of the game was excellently done.


People find this review helpful!