Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


Acid-ScarAcid-Scar

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 21, 2008

That was some serious portal fun!

I'm not gonna lie it isn't portal but its deffinantly bad ass, this game for me brought a whole new realm of challenges I didn't even think were possible in the original game, have you considered making your own portal maps? The crusher and the zapper oven as I like to call them really had me thinking a lot more in the sense of timing and problem solving and I thoroughly enjoyed this game. Keep it up man, this gave me a nice portal fix while I wait for the new portal game to come out, can't wait to see more of your work!



chaser2007chaser2007

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 21, 2008

Way too hard but fun

Its good but Way Too Hard make it a little easy and you should add one more portal so you have 3 portals



badassericlolololbadassericlololol

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 20, 2008

This game is badass

Its pretty hard (for me) but its really fun there is one part i am stuck at but i will probably figure it out.

GOOD JOB



PalkeusPalkeus

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars July 20, 2008

AWESOME but not the actual 'Portal'

This game is really fun and enjoyable but it hasn't got the creepy atmosphere and story as the 'real' portal like those writings on walls stating that 'the cake is a lie'. But with over 30 levels of flash game play, its certainly much longer than the actual portal. Its certainly a mind bender and you've done terrific to make a flash equivalent of a PC/console game.



LumpRareHazeLumpRareHaze

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 18, 2008

Not comparable to Portal.

Flash Portal is not a bad game. It's quite entertaining for a while, I must say, but it gets repetitive after a few minutes, and the game definitely isn't as mysterious and creepy as the "real" game.

The biggest problem in this game is that it's being compared to Portal.


People find this review helpful!