Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


BrogBrog

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars June 15, 2012

This game is just a big pile of garbage.
-Player and item clips very easily with walls and panels, resulting in erratic death or unobtainable cubes.
-A few puzzles seem to have unnecessary elements, which seems like lazy design.
-Unlike 3D Portal, your movement input does not translate properly after going through portals of different directions. Spastic momentum doesn't help either.
-To top it all off there is no quicksaving nor checkpoints, making the later puzzles extremely infuriating coupled with the issues stated above.
It seems that the only reason people like this below-average platformer is because of the Portal franchise alone, having such a reputable place in internet pop culture. I'm giving it a minimum grade just for being a tribute (Albeit a crappy one).



blackhawk07369blackhawk07369

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars June 14, 2012

Pretty good game I enjoy it! Except for the guys easily getting stuck into a continuous loop of circleage, it's good!



1DLover1DLover

Rated 1 / 5 stars June 14, 2012

I DONT GET IT !



NeonthemacawNeonthemacaw

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 13, 2012

Not bad. I got about 5 levels in, got a bit frustrated because the little guy in orange wouldn't stop sometimes. I did managed ot do level three while always going left, so that should be a victory. Anyhow, not to bad.



384sprites384sprites

Rated 4 / 5 stars June 13, 2012

Very fun. Sometimes I get a bug, where after I die, the game doesn't option me to restart, I have to hit ESC each time. The characters can be a little too sped up it seems. Great concept and love the 2D conversion.