Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 10:45 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice October 17, 2007
  • Daily Feature October 11, 2007

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

* For all of the frustrated ones: there's a video walkthrough thread at We Create Stuff > Portal: TFV's forum, and some community help. Good luck :)

We started working on this project a couple of months ago, and now, it is finally done. Lately we've been working on this project none stop, acknowledging if we release it after the real Portal - we fail, and our test will be terminated ( ;). So yes, the last piece of code of this game was programed just a couple of minutes ago. Don't worry - those minutes were on bugs!

Portal: The Flash Version includes over 40 challenging, portals thinking levels, which features almost every feature the real game does, in 2d - energy balls, cubes, turrets and even the famous crusher from the trailer. The game also includes a console to mess around with after finishing the game, or just being frustrated by thinking with portals (Commands are posted in our forums)

portal.wecreatestuff.com

Controls:
Left mouse button - launch a portal.
A W D - movement
Q - launch a blue portal.
E - launch a yellow portal.
R - Close both portals.
F - pick up an object.
~ - open up console (enable through the options)
O - quick quality adjust.
Esc/P - pause game.

Version history:
portal.wecreatestuff.com/
verhistory.txt

Note:
The game really is heavy on levels 30 and up. We did our best to optimize it, but if you still have a low frame rate simply change your quality and effect settings.

If you find any bugs, please report.

Reviews


SebastianMISebastianMI

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 25, 2012

Good game and all, but level 6 was way too hard, it needed more explanation of how to complete it



LDLord25LDLord25

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 25, 2012

My Opinion:

1): is There Any Boss? Like G-Man Its Not Like Using Weapon Just Jumping On Their Head And He Attack Using He's Holding Thing I Dont Know What Is It But Keep It Up

2): And Some Obstacles Like They Had To Go In Blue Dots If They Get In Blacks They'll Fall Its Not So Easy And Make The Walls Color Black So They Can't Use Their Portal Weapon Thingy To Skip In The Dots

3): Add A Robot You Had To Go In The Weapon And Stomp In It 1 Time Add A Shield Where If You Stomp It While Its Whited They Can't Damage It And Add The Robot A Hand Where They'll Get Stomped If They Stay In The Gun Too Long..

(Thats My Opinion Sorry For Long Comment)



RobotMentalityRobotMentality

Rated 4 / 5 stars July 24, 2012

You've done a really good job taking the fundaments of the Portal game and translating them into a sidescrolling format. On paper there's no reason it shouldn't work perfectly however, and I note some rather minor issues.

First I don't think there is nearly enough room. I can tell during your development you struggled with space, from the size of the character and such, but sometimes it's just a bit difficult to manoeuvre through the level, and this is hampered occasionally by misguiding level art causing confusion as to where precisely the edges are. This can be important for precision portal placement. Thusly, complicated manoeuvres become impossible to really complete without a lot of trial and error, waiting for the offhand opportunity to actually manage to pull off the stunt. This probably could have been better addressed. Definitely the possibility for enhanced fluidity there, it seems to me.

The sound effects were good quality copies of the sound effects from the Portal game, which I liked, but the music I didn't find to my liking. It didn't resemble that of the game's soundtrack and wasn't that appealing to me in itself, though I suppose this is largely aesthetic in nature. Art's fine, no problems there, besides the problem I referenced in the second paragraph (not really an art problem though), but it didn't wow me. Better texturing and crisper whites would have made a difference here.

And lastly, this is a minor fan foible, but the character doesn't have the boots Chell is equipped with to dampen fall damage.

Overall this is still a fantastic game on its own and as a take upon the original Portal game.



DrewfroDrewfro

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars July 24, 2012

Can't stand the spikes...



ih8brnyih8brny

Rated 5 / 5 stars July 23, 2012

I SAW GMAN GOTO LEVEL 16 ON LEVEL SELECT AND LOOK AT THE WINDOW IT HAS TO BE LEVEL SELECT