Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 9:21 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place October 10, 2007
  • Weekly 2nd Place October 10, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Jack, a simple scarecrow, has been protecting the farmlands for as long as he can remember. Spending most of his time sleeping and daydreaming, he is shocked when his crow friend Tony has some big news. There might actually be someone like Jack far away and Tony guarantees it's worth the journey. Accompanied by the old rabbit Roy, the three set off to see if there really is more behind the horizon.

The voiceacting is by Andy Dennis (www.andydennis.co.uk) and Laura Post (www.laurapost.net)
The original music is by Stile (http://web.tiscali.it/st ileonline), Jared Hudson and Andres Ciambotti

NOTE: the quality button works, but you have to wait till the movie is loaded if you want to toggle it to high quality (press button 2 times). Make sure you have 2GB ram if you watch it at high quality. The quality of the drawings greatly improves though

Some background info:
I know it has been over 2 years since i have submitted anything new. What happened? Well 2 years ago i started this project with great motivation, but somewhere halfway, after 5 months, i completely lost all motivation to draw and animate. This could have been done in 7 months or so but instead i took a 1,5 year break. I really needed it, to get away from it all for a while, to regain inspiration and motivation. I mainly focused on my study and social life and even though i made very little that period, i think i learned alot about art and animation by just watching and reading stuff. I plan to make a few smaller movies before i start working on episode 2 of this thing. This series is meant to have 5 episodes, but i sincerely hope the others won't take me 2 years each also lol. Anyway, Take care

AITD

Reviews


Burn-N-FlareBurn-N-Flare

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 9, 2007

Definatly nice work...

The voice acting was pretty good, but it wasn't extremely excellent and sometimes it bugged me, so I knocked a point off. Don't take it the hard way, I think this entire flash was perfect and it's definiately an impressive sized project. Like SeizureDog says: "Not many people attempt something of this kind of scope and scale." I agree, alot of flash on here is pretty simple.

So overall, I really did enjoy this flash, it was incredible, minus a few small imperfections. Then again, nothing's perfect.


AloneInTheDark responds:

lol that's ok. Was it the accent that bugged you? because that was really intentional :)


LocksmithLocksmith

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2007

Oh mY

I must say I really enjoyed it. After seeing all that other crap on newgrounds, something original feels like a massage after a long day.
Thank you for making me smile.


AloneInTheDark responds:

Like a massage eh? that's may just be the coolest thing i heard about this movie yet


citricsquidcitricsquid

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2007

Absolutley amazing.

I honestly believe, that has to be the best submission i've seen here on Newgrounds. The story line, script and voice acting was great. The animation was even better, really smooth and looked excellent. I can't wait for more, but might have to wait a long time :(

2 years well spent :)



SeizureDogSeizureDog

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2007

What a coincidence.

I barely come to Newgrounds anymore, so imagine my surprise to not only see an old favorite of mine submitting something new, but submitting something that I had already seen the beginnings of. I remember seeing the first half minute or so you did years ago. I can't believe that you're just now submitting this. Man, it's like time stood still and I never left.

Anyways, on to the Flash itself.

It's an impressive piece of work. Not very many people attempt something of this kind of scope and scale. For a while there I was thinking it might end up being as long as a normal TV episode. The storyline has a real Watership Down feel to it. Nothing amazingly original out of it yet, but it is just the pilot.

The animation quality I noticed various slightly. I think I can pick out scenes you animated a couple of years later than the rest. It seems like I suggested using the smooth function years ago, but doesn't look like you did :P Also, there's the slight issue of sudden stops in animated movement. You know, where the image is frozen as soon as the movement stops and looks jerky. It's a tricky thing to avoid, but if you can find a way to correct it then your animation quality will really improve.

These are just friendly little critiques though, on the whole, the Flash is awesome. Hopefully you're not planning on this being anything over a 3 part series, otherwise we might never see the ending ;)


AloneInTheDark responds:

Thanks pal. It is indeed tricky to avoid those jerky movement bits. Thing is that the drawings take up alot of memory, being pretty detailed, that even at medium quality it won't go 100% smooth. Only a fast 2ghz ram pc can run this on high quality and then the linework will also be smoother. You can try what it looks like then (press the toggle quality button twice) and the difference should be noticable.


TirishTirish

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2007

Excellent

Went straight into my favorites I eagerly await more.