Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Oct 9, 2007 | 9:21 AM EDT
  • Daily 2nd Place October 10, 2007
  • Weekly 2nd Place October 10, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Jack, a simple scarecrow, has been protecting the farmlands for as long as he can remember. Spending most of his time sleeping and daydreaming, he is shocked when his crow friend Tony has some big news. There might actually be someone like Jack far away and Tony guarantees it's worth the journey. Accompanied by the old rabbit Roy, the three set off to see if there really is more behind the horizon.

The voiceacting is by Andy Dennis (www.andydennis.co.uk) and Laura Post (www.laurapost.net)
The original music is by Stile (http://web.tiscali.it/st ileonline), Jared Hudson and Andres Ciambotti

NOTE: the quality button works, but you have to wait till the movie is loaded if you want to toggle it to high quality (press button 2 times). Make sure you have 2GB ram if you watch it at high quality. The quality of the drawings greatly improves though

Some background info:
I know it has been over 2 years since i have submitted anything new. What happened? Well 2 years ago i started this project with great motivation, but somewhere halfway, after 5 months, i completely lost all motivation to draw and animate. This could have been done in 7 months or so but instead i took a 1,5 year break. I really needed it, to get away from it all for a while, to regain inspiration and motivation. I mainly focused on my study and social life and even though i made very little that period, i think i learned alot about art and animation by just watching and reading stuff. I plan to make a few smaller movies before i start working on episode 2 of this thing. This series is meant to have 5 episodes, but i sincerely hope the others won't take me 2 years each also lol. Anyway, Take care

AITD

Reviews


walawalowalawalo

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2007

awesome again

You do not know how much I was expecting to see something from you again. And you still haven't disappointed me. This flash is amazing, your drawings are so great, i love your style. Very good story and we can tell right away that it's gonna go on into a beautiful piece of work. You always manage to put in everything a good movie needs. Just keep it up. I'll be waiting impatiently for your next masterpiece:)



Selren02kSelren02k

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2007

10/10

10/10 woot best-est-est-est- movie on the net!



ExsonExson

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2007

O.o

Looking forward to episode 2



DaeowanDaeowan

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars October 9, 2007

Marvelous.

You have a remarkable grasp of color and value. Your backgrounds are lush and believable, and I just want to run around in the green and vibrant little world you've made. Your animation strikes me as minimalist, but it works very well. There are a lot of subtleties that must have taken a considerable amount of effort, like how Tony moves around when he talks. I really love this visual style, as it's to very rare to see this kind of effort put out for a mere flash animation.

I'm not so sure I like the accents of most of the characets, as they seem "false" somehow, but Roy and the frog (Emmy?) have a great and unique sound. The music is perfect, sets the mood and moves us about quite well.

I'm glad to hear that this piece went so well for you, despite the long hiatus. You've done some damn fine work here, and I salute you for it.


AloneInTheDark responds:

Thanks for the cool review. The minimalist approach is probably because movies (and modern art) have always been my biggest inspiration, not other animations. I just don't like the exaggerated movements you see in traditional animation, i think it makes the characters look one dimensional.


psycochicken999psycochicken999

Rated 5 / 5 stars October 9, 2007

SWEET!

i dont usually like corny childrens books but this was cool. the characters were well developed and funny, and the animation and ideras were great. cant wait 4 the next part!
5'd