Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 19, 2007 | 12:21 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 26, 2007
  • Daily Feature September 20, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

The Composer is an animation following the life cycle of a young boy to adulthood, who uses the purity of music to heal wounds, and inspire the hearts of others.

I sincerely hope you enjoy this, it has taken a lot of work.
Thanks Tom Fulp for your fantastic support, and Francine Louise for your voice talent

Reviews


MarQNarCMarQNarC

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars October 28, 2007

powerful!

I have mixed reviews for this one. 1) I for one do think animation/ cartoons is for a "step outside of reality." Thus giving joy and laughter or excitement. However, story wise- this has a powerful sadness that will captivate its watchers and listeners. 2) I almost closed it out several times before the ending because i thought that it was a little too "sad." And I also thought that it was ending in several different places before it actually did. So--- storywise I think you should consider entering this in some sort of indie film contest, animation wise, you could step it up just a notch. but overall - good job my friend.



KurvosKurvos

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars October 3, 2007

Bushy eyebrows everywhere...

Why have all of them bushy eyebrows, and almost the same look? Please, try to variate the looks on the persons in the future. And why doesn't anyone say anything? Are they all mute? The only thing that was good with this movie was the animation and the feeling. Try to get better. And please; add some humor!



MRknifeMRknife

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars September 27, 2007

Meh

Man everyone is a bleeding heart, I found this movie boring and dull.
The animation was good, but thats about it. The story sucked and the music. well I didn't much care for it.
As for your statement about metal style of music inducing feelings of hate and anger, that is not necessarily true (not for me anyway.)

Even though I didn't enjoy this movie, I can see that you have great animation skills and a good musical talent.



sfliksflik

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars October 5, 2007

Well

The song sounds like something off the beginning of a series. Hardly the sad tone you are looking for. As the piece is axed around this song, you could have strengthened a fewpartsin it. BUt it pleases everyone so that's all you need.



MoopertyMooperty

Rated 2.5 / 5 stars March 4, 2009

I, er...hmm.

I'm not really understanding why this flash is rated so high. The animation is dece, I applaud that and the sound as well. Somewhat generic writing of music but better than I could do with a piano.

But as far as the story goes? Highly cliched, pretentious, sappy, whatever. I felt no sort of emotion really after watching short of "wat". It's by no meas terrible, there's no doubt that you have a grasp of drama, but I don't believe it deserves such a high rating. Maybe the folk of newgrounds have little experience in drama. Or maybe it's just because drama is scarce on the site. Maybe I just suck or something.

When I say pretentious, I'm singling out little things that bothered me. Like the title. :the Composer:, huh. I would have added spaces between the letters for extra added effect. and maybe some tilda on the outside as well.

( ~ : t h e C O M P O S E R : ~ )

...but of course, then you'd have a smiley face and it would appear rather silly. Mood killer deluxe hour with twelve hours of extended bonus footage and director's cut deleted scenes.

Also, why was the main character crying so much? I understand the divorce, but after that it made little sense. Is he overly sensitive? There's meds for that. Also, the little snap at metal seemed uncalled for. Say what you want about that part in defense, it just seemed...biased? Metal can be beautiful, God knows metal bands have had lyrical content more inspiring than this piece.

"Dogs only hear us now". Look it up. The song is "ad a dgdlmut"

Bah, maybe I'm just desensitized. Like I said, I enjoyed the fluid animation and music, I just facepalm'd a few times.

Pardon my rambling. Anyway it was dece (again). When I think of original, enthralling and inspired I think of There Will Be Blood or Punch Drunk Love. Then again they ain't flashes. Keep up the dece work, strive for a more unique story if you want my sincere advice. Hell, I don't have a top rated flash though, now do I?