Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 19, 2007 | 12:21 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 26, 2007
  • Daily Feature September 20, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

The Composer is an animation following the life cycle of a young boy to adulthood, who uses the purity of music to heal wounds, and inspire the hearts of others.

I sincerely hope you enjoy this, it has taken a lot of work.
Thanks Tom Fulp for your fantastic support, and Francine Louise for your voice talent

Reviews


SpoomSpoom

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars March 29, 2009

Hrmmm.

I guess that I can understand the 10s from practically everyone if taken into context as a comparison to most of the other flashes on Newgrounds.

But really... this piece just didn't do it for me. I agree with a few of the other reviewers here that there's an awful lot of cliche here. I love emotion as much as the next guy, but emotion needs something *behind it* to make the emotion meaningful. While I can certainly see how the divorce could be both a nightmare and an inspiration, the rest of the emotion in this Flash is overwrought and seems forced.

To put it simply, there's too much crying throughout to make any sense.

And I agree with a couple of reviewers that the shot at metal was uncalled for. Music can communicate emotion in a more pure way than practically any other art, but no form of music is 'better' than any other. I've heard *highly* emotional and incredibly great metal, some better than the score of this Flash. It's not all some singer yelling incomprehensible lyrics into a microphone (in fact, I usually hate that kind of metal).

The music was great. The animation was obviously great. The technical quality was above average. But the story, central to a short film like this, fell flat for me (no pun intended).

I'm sure this review will be modded down like the other negative ones, but I just can't justify a 10 here.


People find this review helpful!

crazincrazcrazincraz

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars January 2, 2009

um?

would'nt his but get tired from sitting



KupaManKupaMan

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 19, 2007

A step up from PALADIN

The overall quality was good for Newgrounds stuff. I liked not seeing mega-buff meat-sack dudes. I have to complain, in terms of visuals, that all the faces look pretty much the same. Your problem is that you can't escape cliches. Everything you make is bogged down with the same cheesy stuff I've seen on everything. Seeing people cry in cartoons is just annoying. A lot of artists use it without giving a good lead up; it's so commonly just used to force that emotion on people. Now, I know you had that whole broken family thing, but, again, cliche'd up the yang.
As much as it fit the cliche, cheesiness, I did like the ending. I have to admit I love ending at the beginning.


There's some debate, but overall people find this review helpful

OriginalFusionOriginalFusion

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 30, 2007

The song wasn't all that, but it was okay.

Good animation, the song was okay, never really was a piano person. Good effort, but i kinda saw the ending coming, lol.



benpenguinbenpenguin

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars November 27, 2008

Nice try

The flash is great, nice overall artwork and wonderful background music.

The story is a bit plain though, probably because limitations in the length of the flash. Still, could use some extra elaboration in the composor's background (His home), which is the backbone of the story. Avoid using "Spilling of tears" to express his emotions, its the job of the viewer, not him.

Nonetheless, good work, keep it up! Can't wait to see your next flash.