Support NATA 2014

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 19, 2007 | 12:21 AM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice September 26, 2007
  • Daily Feature September 20, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

The Composer is an animation following the life cycle of a young boy to adulthood, who uses the purity of music to heal wounds, and inspire the hearts of others.

I sincerely hope you enjoy this, it has taken a lot of work.
Thanks Tom Fulp for your fantastic support, and Francine Louise for your voice talent

Reviews


danielloowkdanielloowk

Rated 4 / 5 stars November 22, 2007

Not bad

Good short ... the drawing could have been a little better though.
Lol I hate it when lots of instruments become under-rated (namely the classical guitar, which I play).



JackBzJackBz

Rated 4 / 5 stars January 18, 2008

It was alright.

I mean, I thought the plot was a bit corny and lame, especially the beginning with the parents ( I just kinda rolled my eyes at it, sorry) but the animation was great, as was the music. It's not as thought provoking as it's trying to be though.

A solid cartoon.



Knives15Knives15

Rated 4 / 5 stars October 2, 2007

Satans Critic-

You think a hobo would give a kid money for playing good on the piano on the sidewalk.Wrong!, he would beat the kid over the head with a blunt object and take the piano (one handed thanks to hobo powers) and sell it for booze (to fuel his hobo powers)..............................
.....................................
.....................................
.........in all seriousness i see a small realtion with this towards a class of people in society known as the middle class. struggles, surrounded by anger, money problems and the little kid seeing the peril first hand and finding something to explain his emotions threw his piano...............................t o go to the more artistic side of the flash i was a fan of the work, couple repititions here and there but overall kind to the eyes..the song u chose to play threwout the flash went with it like peas in a pod, did u write that or was it already a work......................overall a top 20 fav of satans critic



KeramazottiKeramazotti

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 19, 2007

Good Work

Since you are only 18 you use the emotion part alittle too much with too much tears and crys...actually you dont have to...becouse it makes it look cheasy and gives away too much. The looks in characthers EYES was enough...and there for silent sadness comes...What I call ''ART'' is the very thing that gives emotion..since you did that you are an artist...and very few people can pull that off...thank you for this movie and keep up the very good work. When you will grow alittle older you will know much better to control the amount of emotions that you will give....timing will come in time.



shizeetshizeet

Rated 4 / 5 stars March 2, 2008

Interesting but...

It seems to me that the story seems to be more telling of the story of a performer/artist than what people usually consider to be a "composer" (unless "the Composer" is sort of his stage name or whatever). I wished you'd touch more upon the subject of the composer's struggle for acceptance (there was that bit at the end, but it sort of felt like a throwaway thing) - caught between the need to innovate and the need to please, and consequently possibly with the struggle with himself about his self-worth as a composer. Also, he doesn't seem to face any struggles along the way of his career (not until the end anyways) which seems quite uncharacteristic.

The direction was pretty good in general - I liked how you used that musical theme to advance the story, and consequently the Composer's development. The voice acting actually felt kind of out of place in an otherwise pantomimed story - it didn't help that it was kind of overdramaticized too.

Speaking of which, I didn't really like the overy emo-tearness of the characters. It seems too contrived of an act in trying to make a tearjerker out of this. But the consequence of that is that the characters kind of feel less real and overly simplified - I think using a slightly pained expression would speak volumes more than openly shedding tears.

Maybe I'm biased against this as an aspiring composer of sorts, but it didn't quite fulfill my expectations. However, it is still a well-done piece of work and at least partly deserving of the accolades it has received so far.


People find this review helpful!