Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Sep 11, 2007 | 5:12 PM EDT
  • Daily Feature September 12, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Author Comments

--UPDATE--
I've just done a big final update, which includes a difficulty setting and some new maps (on my site). *Newgrounds is now up to date with the new version.
--UPDATE--
Thanks for all the positive responses! Until it got into the spotlight, the score was briefly at #2 on the all-time list, which was pretty cool.
-----

Keep your people happy at all costs while you rebuild civilization. Be an evil dictator or a hippy in this sarcastic take on the future!

This is the advanced sequal to my RTS colony game of 2 years ago.. I made the original to get into College, and this sequal is the first game I've made since graduating, and it's the first time I've tried drawing everything in Photoshop. It's taken FAR too long to complete (50+ pages of code!!!), and I've been away FAR too long.. but I'm back!

---- NOOB TIP ----
When you lose, you can still continue the game! It doesn't matter if you lose while learning.

-- Features --
*18 different buildings
*8 government types (including crazy ones)
*3 unique maps
*Dozens of random (and usually sarcastic) events
*Build roads and bridges
*Control your stupid people with fear and lies!

-- Basic Controls / Notes --
(Most of the game should explain itself)
*Hold your mouse over buttons and stuff for more info
*Use arrows or WASD to scroll the map
*You can only build bridges in shallow water!
*If it runs slowly, click the MENU button on the bottom right and lower graphics. It is also recommended that you close other windows / programs.
*There's even a developer console (press "~"). Cheats are up at
www.Flyborg.net/vs2_cheat

Reviews


Brandply1Brandply1

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 15, 2007

Great Game

Enough said



flyingjesterflyingjester

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 15, 2007

Rocks dude

great game, keep up the good work.



asiyenurasiyenur

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 15, 2007

Interesting, but hard.

It's fun, but impossible to beat!



qw21qw21

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 15, 2007

Great

I haven't been on NG for some time, and now I stuble across this game. I liked the game, but it's long-livety isn't that great. If you added 100% more stuff this game would be 200% more interesting. Stuff like fusion powerplants and a military, maybe a rivalling rocket. This reminds me of NationStates, wich I like.



GiiizmoGiiizmo

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 15, 2007

Good replay value; challenging.

The minimalistic yet appealing and elegant fast-paced gameplay makes for a great game. Great work!

== BUGS ==

Noticed a bug where the amount of resources added per week doesn't correspond to the amount displayed on the interface (happens with almost every government). Pretty annoying on the higher difficulties where you sometimes have to carefully micro-manage your resources. This bug happens in both the NG and Flyborg.net versions.

Maybe it's a browser-related problem? I'm running Firefox 2.0.0.6 ENG.

== TIPS ==

Winning a gaming with a kleptocracy government IS possible! Here's how I did it:

Map: I

Starting point: Northern part of the largest island, near the ore resource and the river

Immediately build a mine, then a dam. Then work your way towards the ore deposit on the nearby island. Afterwards, build a TV station, a farm and two quarries. Build 2-3 coal power plants and maybe 1-2 farms.

As soon as you have enough resources, build a city or two and a college. Keep spamming coal plants (always on hills) and quarries to produce ore as quick as possible with some farms to keep your populace from whining. While you build all of this, first make your way towards the southern river of the largest island and build a dam and a mine south of it (build roads if you have to).

If you're having problems keeping the people happy, quickly colonize the second largest island and build a second TV station.

When you've more or less momentarily stabilized the situation, quickly build a fort, a Faux News TV station and start building nuclear power plants to replace your coal plants.

Keep practicing until you get it just right and you should make it. I won a kleptocracy game at the end of the 25th week.

Misc tips:

Don't build junk factories, they're huge resource hogs and don't help much if your populace is starving or dying from brown outs.

Never have more ore stored than what a building requires. If you don't know what to build: coal plants + quarries and fine tune number of farms

1 coal plant = power for 2 quarries

I didn't use biodome farms or factories when playing kleptocracy. You can try using them but I found out that quarries + farms work just fine.


Lots of people find this review helpful!