Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 29, 2007 | 7:53 PM EDT
  • Daily 4th Place August 30, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


  • Goth
    Goth Dark and twisted, just like you.

Author Comments

*June 2011 Update

For anyone interested in watching more of my recent dark animations and artwork visit my website at:
www.jonny-lawrence.co.uk

-

-

Collaboration of ideas between me and my mate

The tail of a man who wished for eternal life...with one draw back when under the gaze of the moonlight.

We had been making a few character poems a while back and i felt this one needed to be animated to help show what i was imagining. The character i designed is also in an animation set i made so check that out too www.darkgaruda.deviantart .com

I'm pretty useless when it comes to poetry so my mate did that while i did the rest

You may need to replay this once for reading the poem, and after to see the details i added heh

for the full version of the poem erm i have it somewhere but if you're interested ah whatever...i had to cut some it up so, hope it makes sense and hope you can read it...enjoy!

Music
-Killswitch Engage: 'My Last Serenade'
-Silent Hill - 'Main Theme'
-Silent Hill 2 - 'Stairs of Fire'

Reviews


LeerajiLeeraji

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 2, 2007

Nice!

JustMeAndDee , I have no knowledge of poetry but who also said that everything in NewGrounds must be the best thing you ever saw . People here also animate simple but enjoyable things and I think that your judgment was too harsh . But yes , this animation was ok but not more but thats .. Ok! And ( Again) I did feel strange watching this - I didnt fully understand this flash nor did I feel too intrested ( But thats just me ) so Im just saying that this poem combined with flash animation maybe was unfitting. Well any who , " Not bad , Infact I like " seems as a fitting rank :D. To the author : Congratz , the animation was cool but for some reason slow.



creedingcreeding

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 2, 2007

DOOD

this was grate i gess it was a lil sad but dethe is esy (just swallow LODES of sleeping pills) then dream land awaits
p.s justmeanddee DONT BE A SMART ASS its juts flash dood



JustMeAndDeeJustMeAndDee

Rated 1.5 / 5 stars September 2, 2007

Imperfect, a bore

For those of you claiming that this is good poetry, you really need to diversify your selection of literature. The word choices are trite, the rhythm of the dialog is awkward, and the pacing is too slow. If this be beauty, I'd hate to see ugly.

Moreover, I think we need to ask the broader question of whether or not poetry fits in animation in general. People want to view animation to see, well, animation. Newgrounds is an animation/gaming site, with some emo and expressive works within it, and that is great. However, it is not a repository for online book reading, which is essentially what the author gave to us in this animation, an online book.

Furthermore, IMHO, poetry is overrated anyway. I think many people come to a site like this to escape the ho-hum of the written word. I won't say to the author to never try anything like this again, but he should expect that it might result in a similar kind of reaction on Newgrounds, and he should expect that.

Finally, whereas I never have trouble with Newgrounds animations on my computer, this one suffered significant slowdown. Since it was just a scrolling image/text, I'm really stymied as to how that could happen.


People find this review helpful!

MorrowcaleMorrowcale

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 2, 2007

Terrific!

That was a great poem and the whole piece worked well together! Really good job! I'd like to see more of your poetry on here.

My only complaint was that I found the text a little difficult to read, but thankfully it scrolled slowly so I didn't miss anything.

Again, great poetry! Very tragic and creepy, I loved it!



nathanatosnathanatos

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 2, 2007

what beautiful words

Some of you seem not to settle for the poem itself and in need of a lousy animation which could never equal the beautiful lines read. What I miss in books the most is here a nice background music. I loved the mixture. Do you have more poems?