Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 20, 2007 | 5:18 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice August 22, 2007
  • Review Crew Pick August 22, 2007
  • Daily Feature August 21, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Well hello Newgrounders, long time, no see. If you've wondered where I've been all this time, well, school has been sucking up my soul. I apologize for neglecting NG all this time. it feels like forever since I submitted something. This is actually my first flash submitted since I got Flash 8.

Anyways, this is an animation I made during the last semester of school at IUPUI. I originally made it for my school's biannual VisionFest contest that was being held August 16-18th of this year. Buuuut...ultimately I got beat out by an animation about bird calls. T'was a shame.

What inspired me to make this flash was actually the music, Kismet by Bond. As I was listening to it one day, I was suddenly overcome by this storyline that was going through my head as the music was playing. Kinda like watching a Fantasia short. I knew what I had to do... I have to admit, this didn't turn out as majestic as I imagined it, but I guess I'm still somewhat novice in animation. Also, some of the scenes lag a little, I'm sorry.

To get this done in time for the deadline, I acquired help from a fellow Newgrounds artist, Zombie-Pimp. He did a lot of the backgrounds and a few of the background people, he was a huge help, I dunno if I would of been able to finish before the deadline without him. Thanks, Man.

I also gotta give a big shout-out to Tom Fulp for everything (Newgrounds, increase of size limit, sponsorship), you're just...awesome. Thanks.

This flash takes place in a world after post-nuclear fallout has turned Earth into a desert planet. As a result, society is shaped accordingly and is thrown into an era resembling an Arabian setting.

Well, I'm sure you're all bored of reading all this, so go ahead and start the movie. And as always, ENJOY!

-Flecko-

P.S. (8/21/07) I've been reading each review intensely. Each of your (fellow Newgrounders) reviews make me feel better about the past few days. I've been able to dust myself off quickly and realize that I've been able to entertain a lot of people. In a way, (I still miss that scholarship) I'm glad I lost in the VisionFest, because now I realize that I always have a place of retreat or a home here at Newgrounds and that it will never turn me away or let me down. (I know...sappy. But I had to say it) Thank you all for the awesome reviews, and Thank you Newgrounds!

P.P.S. (8/23/07) A lot of users have been asking me how long this took to make. I'm gonna post the answer on here because I'm sure a lot of you are wondering. I started actual production in the middle of March (2007) and was able to finish barely before the contest submission deadline on June 1st (2007). But that whole last month of May...whew...I was pulling off up to 38 hour shifts at a time just to get this done. I was in constant panic mode pretty much. I HOPE I never have to go through something like that again, I can't imagine what kinda unhealthy side effects could result from it. Cappuccino helped too. Weeeee, cappuccino! French Vanilla!

Reviews


steetjesteetje

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 23, 2007

I have nothing to say except for this.

All my 5 R belong 2 this.



HarlequindeRustreHarlequindeRustre

Rated 5 / 5 stars December 27, 2009

One, good sir,....

That was certainly the best futuristic redux of a classic tale, hands down, no lies, I kid you not. The animation lags... yeah, there were some, but it also gave a sort of expectancy, lent a shabby,undertoned quality to it. I daresay that the visuals went well with the vision, and I hope to see some kind of achievement just like this one somewhere in the nearest future...

Two, I know the feeling of such heart-rending loss; in games... in movies(watching them, dude. I remember watching Joan of Arc's ending and bawling my eyes out for about tens minutes after the credits stopped rolling)... romance... When you pour your heart and soul into something, then get it raked over a bed of coals and into the dirt, it feels like a pulling hole in your chest, and you want to pound and pound and pound and pound and POUND something until the hurt peters away.... Ugh, yes, I know the feeling very personally...

Three, I will quote you some very beautiful pieces of artistic wisdom:

"It is only by drawing often, drawing everything, drawing incessantly, that one fine day you discover to your surprise that you have rendered something in its true character" - Camille Pissarro

"Go on working, freely and furiously, you will make progress" -Paul Gauguin

and, most importantly:

"Whether you succeed or not is irrelevant, there is no such thing; making your unknown known is the important thing." - Georgia O'Keefe

So keep on jogging, and fight the good fight, and doodle away on your computer and make a masterpiece for all the world to see (yeahsure I'm getting a bit too grand about this-- oh, shoosh it's the thought that counts, you... you... person)...

Fourth, I wish you the very, very best, so go out and sweep those leets right off their feet and wow the crowds.

Fifth: Drink espresso; it's got even MOAR caffeine in it!!! :3

Thank you for spending your time reading this cute piece of fluffy consideration.

Sincerely,

Harlequin de Rustre, the Jester of the Clown



mockcarmockcar

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 22, 2010

WOW

omg 1 of the best shorts i ever seen cool but that sucks at the end and wouldnt the king send more than 2 guards to protect his only daughter



KendamuKendamu

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 30, 2007

I'm still smiling

Don't bother with the review before mine cause this was awesome! I thought that I was going to watch a shorter more brutal version of Disney's Aladdin. It was very refreshing to see a new spin on it. I absolutely loved the originality of it all. Especially that part of Aladdin not even being human. I really hope that you do another one soon... or were you just teasing everyone with that last scene?



LimpingFishLimpingFish

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 18, 2007

Amazing!!@

!!!