Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 20, 2007 | 5:18 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice August 22, 2007
  • Review Crew Pick August 22, 2007
  • Daily Feature August 21, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Well hello Newgrounders, long time, no see. If you've wondered where I've been all this time, well, school has been sucking up my soul. I apologize for neglecting NG all this time. it feels like forever since I submitted something. This is actually my first flash submitted since I got Flash 8.

Anyways, this is an animation I made during the last semester of school at IUPUI. I originally made it for my school's biannual VisionFest contest that was being held August 16-18th of this year. Buuuut...ultimately I got beat out by an animation about bird calls. T'was a shame.

What inspired me to make this flash was actually the music, Kismet by Bond. As I was listening to it one day, I was suddenly overcome by this storyline that was going through my head as the music was playing. Kinda like watching a Fantasia short. I knew what I had to do... I have to admit, this didn't turn out as majestic as I imagined it, but I guess I'm still somewhat novice in animation. Also, some of the scenes lag a little, I'm sorry.

To get this done in time for the deadline, I acquired help from a fellow Newgrounds artist, Zombie-Pimp. He did a lot of the backgrounds and a few of the background people, he was a huge help, I dunno if I would of been able to finish before the deadline without him. Thanks, Man.

I also gotta give a big shout-out to Tom Fulp for everything (Newgrounds, increase of size limit, sponsorship), you're just...awesome. Thanks.

This flash takes place in a world after post-nuclear fallout has turned Earth into a desert planet. As a result, society is shaped accordingly and is thrown into an era resembling an Arabian setting.

Well, I'm sure you're all bored of reading all this, so go ahead and start the movie. And as always, ENJOY!

-Flecko-

P.S. (8/21/07) I've been reading each review intensely. Each of your (fellow Newgrounders) reviews make me feel better about the past few days. I've been able to dust myself off quickly and realize that I've been able to entertain a lot of people. In a way, (I still miss that scholarship) I'm glad I lost in the VisionFest, because now I realize that I always have a place of retreat or a home here at Newgrounds and that it will never turn me away or let me down. (I know...sappy. But I had to say it) Thank you all for the awesome reviews, and Thank you Newgrounds!

P.P.S. (8/23/07) A lot of users have been asking me how long this took to make. I'm gonna post the answer on here because I'm sure a lot of you are wondering. I started actual production in the middle of March (2007) and was able to finish barely before the contest submission deadline on June 1st (2007). But that whole last month of May...whew...I was pulling off up to 38 hour shifts at a time just to get this done. I was in constant panic mode pretty much. I HOPE I never have to go through something like that again, I can't imagine what kinda unhealthy side effects could result from it. Cappuccino helped too. Weeeee, cappuccino! French Vanilla!

Reviews


TiboltTibolt

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 24, 2007

...

I think, in a way, my summary says it all. This flash is awesome beyond words. All the artwork, the story, the music, the effects and angles used, the zoom-out at the end...and you're right. The music and the story are practically one, as though not only was the story animated for the music, but the music written and composed for the story. If this is you as an "amateur", I very, very much look forward to seeing what you can really do with more experience. You will go far, that is no doubt.

Your new fan,
Tibolt/David



DESTROYER-F17DESTROYER-F17

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 24, 2007

and when i think about you i touch m....

oo..uhhh yea haha good shit man, i like the post nuclear aladin idea, and no talking, just paki beatz another thing i liked. very surprised i dident see a "...To be continued" o some shit pop up 1 min after the thing starts. but yea keep up the awsum work bud, and hope to see the next one....if there is one.....theres gonna be another one...right??????? hahahah



DjMidnight00DjMidnight00

Rated 3 / 5 stars August 24, 2007

A review

I decided to watch this movie with high hopes for an overall good flash, but I wasn't totally impressed. I enjoyed your art, it was very well drawn. The story, not so much. I felt lack of depth, maturity, and vision in your storyline here. I mean, I saw no reason for their "love" or for her to with him or anything, it was all really empty. I understand your rush to get it done in time but I feel their should have been more to it. Good try though, and it wasn't horrible, just not really that good either.



FlyGuy101FlyGuy101

Rated 5 / 5 stars August 24, 2007

The Judges didn't give you enough credit because..

...This was awsome! It was creative and inspiring, original and new. It was really good to see so much effort put into a flash, sure it lagged a bit but that wasn't really a problem. I thought the ending, though tragic, was quite fitting given the world the characters lived in and the situation that had taken place across that land. I thought the part where he changed into that dinosaur figure was a bit weird, like maybe it could have been better with him changing into another powerful but humanly being, but on the other hand it IS 3150 so I mean everything's possible eh? Nice job I'm impressed!



ClutterClutter

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars August 24, 2007

It shows

The animation was all very high quality, everything moved wonderfully! The movie's editing is also appealing. Though, now that you aren't rushed, it would be really cool if you could go back through and detail the backgrounds a little more. They're all wonderfully constructed, but the plain coloring was distracting.
Awesome work, definitely something to be proud of.