Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 20, 2007 | 5:18 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice August 22, 2007
  • Review Crew Pick August 22, 2007
  • Daily Feature August 21, 2007

Related Stuff

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Well hello Newgrounders, long time, no see. If you've wondered where I've been all this time, well, school has been sucking up my soul. I apologize for neglecting NG all this time. it feels like forever since I submitted something. This is actually my first flash submitted since I got Flash 8.

Anyways, this is an animation I made during the last semester of school at IUPUI. I originally made it for my school's biannual VisionFest contest that was being held August 16-18th of this year. Buuuut...ultimately I got beat out by an animation about bird calls. T'was a shame.

What inspired me to make this flash was actually the music, Kismet by Bond. As I was listening to it one day, I was suddenly overcome by this storyline that was going through my head as the music was playing. Kinda like watching a Fantasia short. I knew what I had to do... I have to admit, this didn't turn out as majestic as I imagined it, but I guess I'm still somewhat novice in animation. Also, some of the scenes lag a little, I'm sorry.

To get this done in time for the deadline, I acquired help from a fellow Newgrounds artist, Zombie-Pimp. He did a lot of the backgrounds and a few of the background people, he was a huge help, I dunno if I would of been able to finish before the deadline without him. Thanks, Man.

I also gotta give a big shout-out to Tom Fulp for everything (Newgrounds, increase of size limit, sponsorship), you're just...awesome. Thanks.

This flash takes place in a world after post-nuclear fallout has turned Earth into a desert planet. As a result, society is shaped accordingly and is thrown into an era resembling an Arabian setting.

Well, I'm sure you're all bored of reading all this, so go ahead and start the movie. And as always, ENJOY!

-Flecko-

P.S. (8/21/07) I've been reading each review intensely. Each of your (fellow Newgrounders) reviews make me feel better about the past few days. I've been able to dust myself off quickly and realize that I've been able to entertain a lot of people. In a way, (I still miss that scholarship) I'm glad I lost in the VisionFest, because now I realize that I always have a place of retreat or a home here at Newgrounds and that it will never turn me away or let me down. (I know...sappy. But I had to say it) Thank you all for the awesome reviews, and Thank you Newgrounds!

P.P.S. (8/23/07) A lot of users have been asking me how long this took to make. I'm gonna post the answer on here because I'm sure a lot of you are wondering. I started actual production in the middle of March (2007) and was able to finish barely before the contest submission deadline on June 1st (2007). But that whole last month of May...whew...I was pulling off up to 38 hour shifts at a time just to get this done. I was in constant panic mode pretty much. I HOPE I never have to go through something like that again, I can't imagine what kinda unhealthy side effects could result from it. Cappuccino helped too. Weeeee, cappuccino! French Vanilla!

Reviews


BluepyroballBluepyroball

Rated 4 / 5 stars September 4, 2007

wow

as amazing visuals and time you did put into this, even the music and everything else, its just not a perfect, hard to explain but sry its not 10/10 material. really nice work though, REALLY NICE!



LemonatorLemonator

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 4, 2007

You didn't win?

That's ghey. This flash was awesome-no other way to describe it (plus, you made the princess hot).



myuhinnymyuhinny

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 4, 2007

Awsome Movie

Great movie hope to see more of this in the future where he is fighting the evil of the world and maybe he will use his powers and bring the girl back to fight along side of him because he is a genie he should have the power to do it and if you do make another one this time you can take your time making it because you will not be on a deadline and we will wait for the next one. P.S I am glad that you did not win the visionfest because you don't need people that vote for 2nd rate crap like bird calls over a true flash/animation movie and I hope the visionfest people get slapped over and over agqain for being so stupid. Well I will coss my fingers and hope to see another one.



Mr-SmashnbashMr-Smashnbash

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 4, 2007

Feeling EXACTLY the same

Dude, I feel exactly the same. I have this song Aozora no Namida,which I heard for the first time right here on NG, and ever since then I have this entire mini-movie planned out in my mind. All inspired by that song and would be similar to yours, no words just the song and the animation. But I have no skills inanimation and so it is on hold.

So I sympathise with your cause and have to say that yours was fantastic. A short but moving piece which works so well. While your animation was rough (at times) which you admit, it doesn't drag you down.

Just keep going,man. Don't stop, you have a talent which you must work with.

I know this isn't really a review but I just had to say my thing.



LKDLKD

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 4, 2007

cooooolll

in fact I like it, nice music, I love the music, specialy, that makes u fell like u where in egypt or near, the girl, omg, good lines, and I hav to say that the story was just perfect, it was art, drama, beauty.
man u should make a saga or somethin' like that