Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 20, 2007 | 5:18 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice August 22, 2007
  • Review Crew Pick August 22, 2007
  • Daily Feature August 21, 2007

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Well hello Newgrounders, long time, no see. If you've wondered where I've been all this time, well, school has been sucking up my soul. I apologize for neglecting NG all this time. it feels like forever since I submitted something. This is actually my first flash submitted since I got Flash 8.

Anyways, this is an animation I made during the last semester of school at IUPUI. I originally made it for my school's biannual VisionFest contest that was being held August 16-18th of this year. Buuuut...ultimately I got beat out by an animation about bird calls. T'was a shame.

What inspired me to make this flash was actually the music, Kismet by Bond. As I was listening to it one day, I was suddenly overcome by this storyline that was going through my head as the music was playing. Kinda like watching a Fantasia short. I knew what I had to do... I have to admit, this didn't turn out as majestic as I imagined it, but I guess I'm still somewhat novice in animation. Also, some of the scenes lag a little, I'm sorry.

To get this done in time for the deadline, I acquired help from a fellow Newgrounds artist, Zombie-Pimp. He did a lot of the backgrounds and a few of the background people, he was a huge help, I dunno if I would of been able to finish before the deadline without him. Thanks, Man.

I also gotta give a big shout-out to Tom Fulp for everything (Newgrounds, increase of size limit, sponsorship), you're just...awesome. Thanks.

This flash takes place in a world after post-nuclear fallout has turned Earth into a desert planet. As a result, society is shaped accordingly and is thrown into an era resembling an Arabian setting.

Well, I'm sure you're all bored of reading all this, so go ahead and start the movie. And as always, ENJOY!

-Flecko-

P.S. (8/21/07) I've been reading each review intensely. Each of your (fellow Newgrounders) reviews make me feel better about the past few days. I've been able to dust myself off quickly and realize that I've been able to entertain a lot of people. In a way, (I still miss that scholarship) I'm glad I lost in the VisionFest, because now I realize that I always have a place of retreat or a home here at Newgrounds and that it will never turn me away or let me down. (I know...sappy. But I had to say it) Thank you all for the awesome reviews, and Thank you Newgrounds!

P.P.S. (8/23/07) A lot of users have been asking me how long this took to make. I'm gonna post the answer on here because I'm sure a lot of you are wondering. I started actual production in the middle of March (2007) and was able to finish barely before the contest submission deadline on June 1st (2007). But that whole last month of May...whew...I was pulling off up to 38 hour shifts at a time just to get this done. I was in constant panic mode pretty much. I HOPE I never have to go through something like that again, I can't imagine what kinda unhealthy side effects could result from it. Cappuccino helped too. Weeeee, cappuccino! French Vanilla!

Reviews


FurnockFurnock

Rated 3.5 / 5 stars September 4, 2007

It was an awesomely done flash but...

i can see why the bird call thing beat yours.

its a bit too strange and weird, schools like normal things. great for newgrounds though.

all in all, excellent flash



drac116drac116

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 4, 2007

I agree

I'll hav eto agree with avery one else it needs a sequel and it totalyl kicks ass... as a suggestion, now that the scholarship has passed would you consider remaking it as you originally envisioned it?



doublem6905doublem6905

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 4, 2007

mmm good

This is a very nice short excellent job that only reason why i put 9 outta 10 is cuz it just kinda leaves ya hanging but if you feel so inclined to make a sequel i look forward to watching it also try drinking a couple energy drinks along with your cappuccino



black123black123

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 4, 2007

DOOOOD

I NEED a sequel absolutely amazing perfect scores all around the lag didn't even matter.



omegaweapon13omegaweapon13

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 4, 2007

OMFG>........................

listen i know this is gunna sound fucked up but can you send me that music???

its so emotional it fits the story perfectly bought a tear to me eye she died(ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh) (lol)

awsome animation
graphics: amazing
background graphics: super
sound: amazing ACE cant be beaten
rating 20/10 (if i could vote that high)

improvements: maybe add voices?????? it would make it better to my with or with out the music carrys it on to the end other that keeep going make a series

maybe even see inside the palace?????

ive been ready review at i gotta say that there all true the stars in the background at the end flickering is awsome to add it

but is there any way i could get that music its amazing did you create it or barrowed it from some where its true music to the animation almost like the cartoon aladdin because of the voilins etc etc


People find this review helpful!