Be a Supporter!

Credits & Info

Uploaded
Aug 20, 2007 | 5:18 PM EDT
  • Weekly Users' Choice August 22, 2007
  • Review Crew Pick August 22, 2007
  • Daily Feature August 21, 2007

If you liked this, check these out!


Plenty more like this here!


Author Comments

Well hello Newgrounders, long time, no see. If you've wondered where I've been all this time, well, school has been sucking up my soul. I apologize for neglecting NG all this time. it feels like forever since I submitted something. This is actually my first flash submitted since I got Flash 8.

Anyways, this is an animation I made during the last semester of school at IUPUI. I originally made it for my school's biannual VisionFest contest that was being held August 16-18th of this year. Buuuut...ultimately I got beat out by an animation about bird calls. T'was a shame.

What inspired me to make this flash was actually the music, Kismet by Bond. As I was listening to it one day, I was suddenly overcome by this storyline that was going through my head as the music was playing. Kinda like watching a Fantasia short. I knew what I had to do... I have to admit, this didn't turn out as majestic as I imagined it, but I guess I'm still somewhat novice in animation. Also, some of the scenes lag a little, I'm sorry.

To get this done in time for the deadline, I acquired help from a fellow Newgrounds artist, Zombie-Pimp. He did a lot of the backgrounds and a few of the background people, he was a huge help, I dunno if I would of been able to finish before the deadline without him. Thanks, Man.

I also gotta give a big shout-out to Tom Fulp for everything (Newgrounds, increase of size limit, sponsorship), you're just...awesome. Thanks.

This flash takes place in a world after post-nuclear fallout has turned Earth into a desert planet. As a result, society is shaped accordingly and is thrown into an era resembling an Arabian setting.

Well, I'm sure you're all bored of reading all this, so go ahead and start the movie. And as always, ENJOY!

-Flecko-

P.S. (8/21/07) I've been reading each review intensely. Each of your (fellow Newgrounders) reviews make me feel better about the past few days. I've been able to dust myself off quickly and realize that I've been able to entertain a lot of people. In a way, (I still miss that scholarship) I'm glad I lost in the VisionFest, because now I realize that I always have a place of retreat or a home here at Newgrounds and that it will never turn me away or let me down. (I know...sappy. But I had to say it) Thank you all for the awesome reviews, and Thank you Newgrounds!

P.P.S. (8/23/07) A lot of users have been asking me how long this took to make. I'm gonna post the answer on here because I'm sure a lot of you are wondering. I started actual production in the middle of March (2007) and was able to finish barely before the contest submission deadline on June 1st (2007). But that whole last month of May...whew...I was pulling off up to 38 hour shifts at a time just to get this done. I was in constant panic mode pretty much. I HOPE I never have to go through something like that again, I can't imagine what kinda unhealthy side effects could result from it. Cappuccino helped too. Weeeee, cappuccino! French Vanilla!

Reviews


ZaknafienAuvryothZaknafienAuvryoth

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 5, 2007

Inspiring

I saw this originally a week ago... The first time watching it... I felt like it was a dream. I decided to watch it again to make sure that it was so beautiful... and it was. I don't know how to describe it.. the music and frames flow. You have a wonderful talent. You have inspired my friends and I to start flash, and we have been working hard through tutorials to get used to the program.
If you ever make another movie like this, I would be happy to watch it. Please continue the great work. You truly are an artist.
With a unique story, wonderful animation... i have to give 10 stars. The only piece that even had a flaw in my mind was some of the facial expressions. Improvements there... and you are a flash god.
You have a nice day, my friend; you made mine.



Darkwolf01Darkwolf01

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 5, 2007

amazing

this is positvely amazing, the animation was done perfectly, and the story was beautiful, keep up the excellent work!



gRounDfolDs645gRounDfolDs645

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 5, 2007

Finally, a video that steals emotion!

The blends of animation and theme song are so seamless. Song choice is excellent, and captivates the already beautiful scenes and just engages you in the movie. An excellent movie all around. Bravo!!!



RuneknRunekn

Rated 4.5 / 5 stars September 5, 2007

Great

It's a nice movie with fluid animation and is unique (Aladdin set in the future with him being a lizard-like creature(which I still don't get) can't wait to see more!



syntezasynteza

Rated 5 / 5 stars September 5, 2007

Just Fantastic

Squrza, I agree with what you said at the beginning. You most certainly shouldn't have approached this flash with a skeptical disposition. I watched it passively, as if it were a dream, and I found it beautiful. I was able to feel power, love, vengeance and anger. But I willingly suspended my disbelief, rather than meticulously scrutinizing every frame.